D&D 5E Using booming blade on a reaction attack with sanctuary question

ECMO3

Hero
I have a tempest cleric with booming blade and warcaster. Some question came up on when the booming blade movement damage takes effect.

So I attack an enemy with booming blade. I hit, then I cast sanctuary on myself. The enemy tries to move on his turn and I use a reaction to attack him with booming blade again. What is the sequence everything happens. This is important, because once I attack him with my reaction that breaks sanctuary and he probably is going to attack me.

Here is how I think this sequence occurs. Enemy is sheathed in booming energy to start his turn and right next to me.

Enemies Turn:
1. Enemy moves out of my reach
2. takes booming blade movement damage
3. triggers AOO
4. Reaction Booming blade AOO hits for normal (non-movement) damage
5. Sanctuary drops
6. He is now 5 feet away and sheathed in booming energy again so if he moves back and attacks me he takes booming blade movement damage again. Of course if he has a 10 foot reach he can just attack me from where he is.

Is this the correct order of things?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Bayushi_seikuro

Adventurer
Here's my read:
First, remember, you don't have to take your AoO just because it's available.

If you choose to take an attack while under Sanctuary, once the attack action is completed, Sanctuary would drop ("If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.") It would drop even if you had a way to do a spell attack for damage, not just a melee attack.

But, the opponent moving 5'+ would take the booming damage as well if they willingly moved. So, I'd say the net effect is - you could do your AoO or not, Sanctuary should still drop either from AoO damage or from your Booming Blade spell doing damage to him when he moves, I would thing.
 

ECMO3

Hero
Why is he five feet away?
Once you attack him with your AOO he can stay there and attack you back.
He moved out of my reach causing an AOO and my reach is 5 feet:

"You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach."

So if my reach is 5 feet he needs to move outside of that to trigger the AOO (and trigger the booming blade damage). Am I reading this wrong?
 

ECMO3

Hero
Here's my read:
First, remember, you don't have to take your AoO just because it's available.

If you choose to take an attack while under Sanctuary, once the attack action is completed, Sanctuary would drop ("If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.") It would drop even if you had a way to do a spell attack for damage, not just a melee attack.

But, the opponent moving 5'+ would take the booming damage as well if they willingly moved. So, I'd say the net effect is - you could do your AoO or not, Sanctuary should still drop either from AoO damage or from your Booming Blade spell doing damage to him when he moves, I would thing.
Good point. I guess this is the order then:

Enemies Turn:
1. Enemy moves out of my reach (5 feet)
2. takes booming blade movement damage
3. Sanctuary drops
4. triggers AOO
5. Reaction Booming blade AOO hits for normal (non-movement) damage
6. He is now 5 feet away and sheathed in booming energy again so if he moves back and attacks me he takes booming blade movement damage again. Of course if he has a 10 foot reach he can just attack me from where he is.

Is this the correct?

This also brings up another option for the enemy, he could move sideways, staying within reach and trigger the booming blade damage and drop sanctuary without triggering an AOO.
 

Maxperson

Morkus from Orkus
He moved out of my reach causing an AOO and my reach is 5 feet:

"You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach."

So if my reach is 5 feet he needs to move outside of that to trigger the AOO (and trigger the booming blade damage). Am I reading this wrong?
You're reading is correct. As soon as you attack with your reaction, the Sanctuary will drop and he is 5 feet away or further if he was moving more. The AOO doesn't trigger until he moves out of your reach by a method that triggers AOO.
 

He moved out of my reach causing an AOO and my reach is 5 feet:

"You can make an opportunity Attack when a Hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach."

So if my reach is 5 feet he needs to move outside of that to trigger the AOO (and trigger the booming blade damage). Am I reading this wrong?
When you make your attack the monster is obviously within your reach, so he has not move yet.
if he continue moving he will trigger the booming blade, but since your sanctuary has drop down, he may stay there and attack you instead.
The monster trick you!
 

ECMO3

Hero
When you make your attack the monster is obviously within your reach, so he has not move yet.
This is contrary to what the rules say. You can't make an opportunity attack against an enemy that is within your reach. If he triggered the AOO then he must be outside your reach. The fact that you can make an attack against an enemy beyond your reach is a case of specific rule for AOOs vs general rule for attacks.
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.

Bold added for emphasis.

Since the attack occurs before the creature leaves your reach, I would rule that the sequence goes:

1. The enemy begins to move out of your reach
1a. Right before the enemy moves out of your reach, you make an opportunity attack
1b. Sanctuary ends due to you making an attack
2. The enemy finishes its movement
3. The enemy takes damage from Booming Blade

If your DM rules that you can cast Booming Blade instead of making an attack when the enemy provokes an opportunity attack from you (which is not normally possible), and you hit with it, the enemy would theoretically take the damage from both instances of the spell.
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
This is contrary to what the rules say. You can't make an opportunity attack against an enemy that is within your reach. If he triggered the AOO then he must be outside your reach. The fact that you can make an attack against an enemy beyond your reach is a case of specific rule for AOOs vs general rule for attacks.
Incorrect. The rules explicitly state that the attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
 

Maxperson

Morkus from Orkus
This is contrary to what the rules say. You can't make an opportunity attack against an enemy that is within your reach. If he triggered the AOO then he must be outside your reach. The fact that you can make an attack against an enemy beyond your reach is a case of specific rule for AOOs vs general rule for attacks.
The AOO caused by leaving reach actually occurs right before the creature exits. It interrupts him in the middle of his action, one of the very few ways to interrupt an action before the trigger completes, and then it leaves reach.

So the sequence of that is.

1. Creature is leaving reach.
2. AOO triggers and you attack.
3. Creature leaves reach and is now 5 feat away.
 

This is contrary to what the rules say. You can't make an opportunity attack against an enemy that is within your reach. If he triggered the AOO then he must be outside your reach. The fact that you can make an attack against an enemy beyond your reach is a case of specific rule for AOOs vs general rule for attacks.
Extensible arms nice.
 

ECMO3

Hero
If your DM rules that you can cast Booming Blade instead of making an attack when the enemy provokes an opportunity attack from you (which is not normally possible), and you hit with it, the enemy would theoretically take the damage from both instances of the spell.

Thanks for the clarification on just before leaving reach.
Regarding what is quoted, I have warcaster, so I can cast a spell on an enemy that causes an oppotunity attack.
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
Thanks for the clarification on just before leaving reach.
No problem!
Regarding what is quoted, I have warcaster, so I can cast a spell on an enemy that causes an oppotunity attack.
I guessed that might be the case. In my reading of Booming Blade, it’s not a valid spell to cast via Warcaster, but it’s worded ambiguously enough I can easily see how one would come to a different conclusion. And it’s not really relevant to the origin question anyway.
 

ECMO3

Hero
No problem!

I guessed that might be the case. In my reading of Booming Blade, it’s not a valid spell to cast via Warcaster, but it’s worded ambiguously enough I can easily see how one would come to a different conclusion. And it’s not really relevant to the origin question anyway.
Why not?

"When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature."

It is a spell with a casting time of 1 action, only targeting 1 creature. I would think green flame blade is not doable since it targets 2 creatures, but booming blade should be ok I think.
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
Why not?

"When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature."

It is a spell with a casting time of 1 action, only targeting 1 creature. I would think green flame blade is not doable since it targets 2 creatures, but booming blade should be ok I think.
Booming blade doesn’t target an enemy. It has a range of “self” and the effect of allowing you to make a melee weapon attack with the weapon used for the material component, which has a special effect if it hits.

Like I said, it’s ambiguous enough that I can see how someone might interpret it differently, and it’s not really relevant to the topic. But that’s my understanding of how Booming Blade works.
 


cbwjm

Legend
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.

Bold added for emphasis.

Since the attack occurs before the creature leaves your reach, I would rule that the sequence goes:

1. The enemy begins to move out of your reach
1a. Right before the enemy moves out of your reach, you make an opportunity attack
1b. Sanctuary ends due to you making an attack
2. The enemy finishes its movement
3. The enemy takes damage from Booming Blade

If your DM rules that you can cast Booming Blade instead of making an attack when the enemy provokes an opportunity attack from you (which is not normally possible), and you hit with it, the enemy would theoretically take the damage from both instances of the spell.
I probably should have read that again sooner. Sentinel always seemed a little off to me, but makes sense to me now having read the final sentence.
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
Getting back to the original question, we do have to see when the first BB goes off. Because layering a second BB on before the damage goes off will only leave one damage as two spells of the same name overlap, not stack.
Oh, that’s a good point!

Actually, looking at booming blade again, the damage triggers when the target moves 5 feet or more. If one wanted to be really nit picky about it, you could say that the second instance of booming blade “occurring right before the creature leaves your reach” would the distance between where they are when the attack happens and where they end up after is fewer that 5 feet. But I think the cleaner ruling is just to say both instances are triggered when the creature leaves your reach.
 

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
Somewhat related to the question at hand: do you people allow someone who has been targeted by an OA triggered by leaving reach to interrupt their movement and decide to remain where they are?
 

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top