Using produce flame to make a touch AoO


log in or register to remove this ad

AoOs are done with melee weapons only, right? It seems that if you had a touch attack spell 'running', or one at the ready you could AoO because you are considered armed. It may be a strict, black and white interpretation vs a spirit of play interpretation here, but I think the rules state that AoOs are melee weapon in hand reactions.
 


Unless you threaten with unarmed attacks, like a monk or a guy with Imp Unarmed Strike. My understanding is Touch Spells count as armed regardless, but its been awhile since I looked it up.

Scoop me, will ya!

AoOs are provoked if you threaten. Unarmed characters don't generally threaten absent a feat, ability or natural attack, however my thinking is Touch Spells threaten.
 
Last edited:

PHB p.141 said:
Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
So you are considered to be armed.

Touch attack with spells are considered to be "armed unarmed" attacks, which are a type of unarmed attack, per p.139. Since you can use an armed unarmed attack to make an AoO (also per p. 139), you can use a touch spell with a held charge to make an AoO.

Edit: You don't actually hold the charge with produce flame, but the above analysis still applies, since the "armed unarmed" passage refers to a "touch attack spell", which produce flame clearly is.
 
Last edited:




The one caveat I want to point out is that your touch spell needs to be an attack. You do not threaten with, say, a cure light wounds, unless you are fighting undead.

Also, note the oddness of the phrase "touch attack spell" as 5th element pointed out. That phrase is not defined anywhere. "Touch spell" is defined; however, produce flame is clearly not a touch spell. Allowing produce flame is, therefore, a loophole, but a legal loophole. :)
 


Remove ads

Top