Using two weapons fighting with fists?

Tidus4444

First Post
I don't think it's possible, because on page 39 it explciitly says so. However, my friend argues that you can. His argument is this: the Monk's unarmed attack discription says you cannot make any off-hand attacks with fists. He says the ambidexterity feat gets rid of your off-hand, because you are good with both of your hands, and that, therefore, you may use twf with fists. We do play 3.5e, where ambidex doesn't exist, but he says the underlying principal is the same.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can certainly use both fists as light weapons, gaining an extra attack for attacking with two weapons (and potentially more with the TWF tree).

The exception is a monk, as "There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed."

However, a monk may use Flurry of Blows, so they are not exactly disadvantaged in this respect.

A monk can, of course, make an off-hand attack if armed, and there is nothing in the rules to prohibit him doing this and also making extra attacks from Flurry of Blows if his weapons are special monk weapons.

However, many DMs feel this is against the spirit of Flurry of Blows, and disallow it.

-Hyp.
 

If you are not a monk, and you have two working hands, then yes, you can use two-weapon fighting with both unarmed strikes. Doing so is akin to a rapid one-two punch in boxing (or rapid strikes in martial arts). Otherwise, making one attack (or multiple attack due to BAB) meaning that you're focusing on one good jab, cross, or uppercut punch. Watch a boxing match, where one boxer tries to test the reaction of the other boxer using his off hand, thus finding an opening.
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top