Vorpal?


log in or register to remove this ad



In the DMG under the Vorbal ability.

"This potent and feared ability allows the weapon to sever the heads of those it strikes. Upon a roll of natural 20 (followed by a successful roll to confirm the critical hit), the weapon severs the opponent’s head (if it has one) from its body. Some creatures, such as many aberrations and all oozes, have no heads. Others, such as golems and undead creatures other than vampires, are not affected by the loss of their heads. Most other creatures, however, die when their heads are cut off. A vorpal weapon must be a slashing weapon. (If you roll this property randomly for an inappropriate weapon, reroll.)"

You'll notice that in the description it does lists exceptions that the ability does not effect. Size is not one of them.
 



Crothian said:
You'll notice that in the description it does lists exceptions that the ability does not effect. Size is not one of them.

And just to be entirely random, this is an instance of the old adage "The exception proves the rule" -- if an exception exists for some rule, it merely reinforces the idea that the rule applies in all other cases.
 

Monte Cook had a house rule that Vorpal weapons only applied to one size category larger, or any size category less. So, a halfling could vorpal a medium-size creature, but not a Large creature.

That's a house rule, mind you, and if I were your DM, I'd implement ASAP.

Well, beyond removing Vorpal weapons from the game, of course. :)
 

Why not just say that if the creature is more than one size category larger than you, you don't cut off the head but some other body part and the creature bleeds to death and dies from shock?
 

If you're playing by 3.0 rules (as I do), then the text for Vorpal includes this one additional line:

The DM may have to make judgement calls about this sword's effect.

For example, as DM I rule that if a person cannot reach a very large opponent's head, then the Vorpal effect cannot take place.
 

Remove ads

Top