Warlord Exploit - Commander's Strike

godfear

Explorer
Does the Warlord have to be within melee range of the target, or just the ally? If just the ally, does the Warlord simply need line of sight?

-g
 

log in or register to remove this ad

godfear said:
Does the Warlord have to be within melee range of the target, or just the ally? If just the ally, does the Warlord simply need line of sight?

-g

Hate to admit it, but I have no idea how this power works. I mean, I THINK I know how it's SUPPOSED to work, but then I read it...

For example. It says it's a Melee Weapon power. This means it gets bonuses to hit and damage from my weapon. But it also specifies that the ally gets a basic attack against the target. So it gets hit and damage bonuses from his weapon too? The higher of the two due to stacking rules, so if I use a sword and he's using an axe, he gets a +3 total proficiency bonus? If my weapon is more magical than his, he gets that bonus too? Common sense says, "No, use his stuff, no matter what, not mine" but that's not what the power says. And this "common sense" may not be what the designers had in mind, otherwise this power wouldn't be a Weapon keyword power.

Here's what I know to be true. When you use this power, the enemy must be in range of your melee weapon, and follows all normal targeting rules. If the target is in melee range of your weapon, then an ally of your choice (no range or targeting required here, so any ally of your choice) makes a basic melee attack against the target (so your ally has to have the target in his melee range as well, with all normal targeting rules). The attack adds your Int as bonus damage. The power takes a standard action.
 

In the future, when asking questions you'll get quicker answers if you include the text of the power you're asking about :)

Target: One creature
Attack: An ally of your choice makes a basic melee attack against the target
Hit: Ally's basic attack damage plus your Int modifier

As I read it only the ally needs to be within melee range. The Warlord would need to see the creature.

EDIT: The more I read it the worse it gets. I do think you need to be within melee range of the target, though not necessarily the ally. The only reason I think this is because it's a Melee Weapon attack, not a Utility power.

Ugh, definitely need some errata on this one.
 


You must be in melee range. The range is Melee and the target is one creature. Thus, you must target one creature within melee range.

If they wanted it to be only the ally that mattered, they would have made it a Close Burst 5 (or 10 or whatever) and the target would be one ally.
 


baberg said:
In the future, when asking questions you'll get quicker answers if you include the text of the power you're asking about :)

Target: One creature
Attack: An ally of your choice makes a basic melee attack against the target
Hit: Ally's basic attack damage plus your Int modifier

As I read it only the ally needs to be within melee range. The Warlord would need to see the creature.

The range is Melee weapon. So you have to be within melee weapon range to use this power. It's damn confusing.

He's how I'd rewrite the power based on what I think it's supposed to do:

Commander's Strike________________Warlord Attack 1
With a shout, you command an ally to attack.
Standard Action__________ Close burst 10
Target: One ally in burst
Effect: The target ally makes a melee basic attack against any target in your Melee weapon range. If he hits, his attack adds your Intelligence modifier to it's damage.
 
Last edited:

baberg said:
Ugh, definitely need some errata on this one.

I think the worst part is the Weapon keyword in the power that lets it gain the modifiers of your melee weapon. I have no idea if this is intended...
 

Eldorian said:
The range is Melee weapon. So you have to be within melee weapon range to use this power. It's damn confusing.

He's how I'd rewrite the power based on what I think it's supposed to do:

Commander's Strike________________Warlord Attack 1
With a shout, you command an ally to attack.
Standard Action__________ Close burst 3
Target: One ally in burst
Attack: The target ally makes a melee basic attack against any target in your Melee weapon range. If he hits, his attack adds your Intelligence modifier to it's damage.
That's not a power for a front-liner. The Warlord is supposed to be in melee with the target of his power.

Cheers, -- N
 

Eldorian said:
He's how I'd rewrite the power based on what I think it's supposed to do:

Target: One ally in burst
Effect: The target ally makes a melee basic attack against any target in your Melee weapon range. If he hits, his attack adds your Intelligence modifier to it's damage.
See, how I read it the first time was the opposite of how you've interpreted it. I'd rewrite it as:


Standard Action__________ Close burst 10
Target: One ally in burst
Effect: The target ally makes a melee basic attack against any target within his Melee weapon range. If he hits, his attack adds your Intelligence modifier to it's damage.

I felt like it was intended to allow an out-of-position Warlord to point out to an ally a weakness of their opponent, instead of the Warlord taking a ranged attack.

Like I said, definitely need some errata here :D But the RAW says both you and the ally must be within melee range.
 

Remove ads

Top