Warlord's Tactical Presence

Kalthanis

First Post
I'm an Archer Ranger. My friend is a Tactical Warlord with Tactical Presence. "When an ally you can see spends an action point to make an extra attack, the ally gains a bonus to the attack roll equal to one-half your Intelligence modifier."

So I Action Point to do an attack that gives me 3 shots, we'll say Confounding Arrows. Do I get the bonus on all three attacks or just the first?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say the 3 rolls would all get the bonus (as I would rule it applies to all rolls on the standard action taken).
 

Tactical Presence
When an ally you can see spends an action point to make an attack, the ally gains a bonus to the attack roll equal to one-half your Intelligence modifier



So while I agree with renau1g, I can see the other side. I think the power refers to "attack" as an attack power, not necissarily an attack roll. But it doesn't specify. So I think that might just my my interpretation, not the actual rule.
 

Even tho the feature says 'Attack Roll', do understand that it's a conditional statement.

'If condition X, then situation Y.'

So, every time condition X is satisfied, situation Y occurs.

If you have a multi-attack roll power, you get the bonus to hit for every attack during that power you got by spending an action point, because every one of those attack satisfies the 'if condition X.'

Here's a hint: That's every attack roll for that power.
 

So I Action Point to do an attack that gives me 3 shots, we'll say Confounding Arrows. Do I get the bonus on all three attacks or just the first?
Yep, all three. (Wizards love Tactical Warlords.)

There are effects which only grant you a benefit on a single attack roll, and they are unambiguously spelled out as such.

Cheers, -- N
 

So while I agree with renau1g, I can see the other side. I think the power refers to "attack" as an attack power, not necissarily an attack roll. But it doesn't specify. So I think that might just my my interpretation, not the actual rule.

Even tho the feature says 'Attack Roll', do understand that it's a conditional statement.

'If condition X, then situation Y.'

So, every time condition X is satisfied, situation Y occurs.

If you have a multi-attack roll power, you get the bonus to hit for every attack during that power you got by spending an action point, because every one of those attack satisfies the 'if condition X.'

Here's a hint: That's every attack roll for that power.

The thing that led to my question in the first place. Any power that allows more than one attack is listed like this. "Two Attacks." or "Three Attacks". They spell it out that each roll is a separate attack. If the intent was to allow the Warlord's Tactical bonus to each one, why didn't they write, "When an ally you can see spends an action point to make an extra attack action, the ally gains a bonus to all attack rolls equal to one-half your Intelligence modifier until the end of that action."?
 

It wouldn't matter. Every attack you make with that power is an attack garnered from spending an action point, therefore it satisfies the Condition of having spent an action point to make that attack.
 

It wouldn't matter. Every attack you make with that power is an attack garnered from spending an action point, therefore it satisfies the Condition of having spent an action point to make that attack.

That's the clearest response yet - I shall remember that for the 4e game I'm in. I'll check what Warlord build is being used so I can try and take advantage of it.
 

Remove ads

Top