What can I do while holding a charge?

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
By the rules, if I am holding a charge (i.e., a touch spell where I haven't made the touch attack yet) and I touch anything besides a valid target or I cast a spell, the held charge dissipates harmlessly. My question is, which of the following things can I do without losing the held charge?
1) Draw a weapon before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then attack with the weapon in my other hand.
2) Draw a wand before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then use the wand.
3) Grab a potion before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then drink the potion.
4) Cast a touch spell and then activate a ring of invisibility.
5) Cast a touch spell and then draw a weapon.

My guess is that I can do all of them except for 1 and 5, with the provision that my potion bottle can be uncorked one-handed.

Daniel
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I envisage a touch spell only charging one of the casters hands, leaving them free to do anything they want with the off hand

Personally I'd say

1) Sure
2) Although you could draw the wand I wouldn't let you activate it because it is doing "another magic thing"
3) I'd let you drink something one handed, unstopping it with your teeth would make it a longer action but I'd allow that
4) In my world you'd activate a ring of invisibility by putting it on (heh), so no real problem if you could do it one-handed. In a standard D&D world I'd go back to (2)
5) Sure, as long as you were drawing it with your off-hand.

That's my opinion anyway.

Cheers
 

Pielorinho said:
1) Draw a weapon before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then attack with the weapon in my other hand.
You can draw the weapon as a move action and still cast the touch spell, as long as your other hand is free. You would have to wait until the next round to attack with the weapon, of course.
2) Draw a wand before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then use the wand.
Same as #1.
3) Grab a potion before I cast the touch spell, cast the touch spell, and then drink the potion.
Same as #1.
4) Cast a touch spell and then activate a ring of invisibility.
Yes, but not in the same round. Both require standard actions.
5) Cast a touch spell and then draw a weapon.
Yes, as long as you draw the weapon with the other hand.
 

Interesting responses! To clarify, I'm not worried about doing these things in the same round; I'm wondering whether doing them in subsequent rounds will fizzle the charge spell. (I was really tempted to write "fizzle the chizzle," but I've sworn a solemn oath to avoid such silliness).

1) What constitutes casting a spell, such that it disrupts your charges? I'm pretty sure using a spell completion item like a scroll would count, but I'm not so clear on whether using a spell trigger item like a wand, or a use-activated or command-activated item would count.
2) What constitutes touching anything else? I'm not convinced, contary to what Plane Sailing says, that only one hand is charged, although that may be correct. On the other hand, if your whole body is charged, you'd think charged attacks would automatically connect with anyone who successfully performs a melee attack against you. Assuming that one hand is charged, can you touch anything else at all with your off-hand? Is it limited to touching your own equipment, or can you, for example, slap the raging orc barbarian without losing your charge?

I plan to play a character who's going to be casting Chill Touch a lot, which involves holding multiple charges; while I don't anticipate regularly attacking with an off-handed weapon or a wand, I'd rather be clear ahead of time what actions I can take without losing all the charges.

Daniel

Daniel
 

Actually, this brings to mind another question that came up for my wizard last session... Lets say I designate my familiar as the "toucher" for a touch spell - Can my Wizard then go about his next few rounds normally, including casting spells, or does the limitations on touch spells apply to him as well as to his familiar?
 

KidCharlemagne, the rules specifically prohibit that:

Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master could. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.
Daniel
 

Plane Sailing said:
I envisage a touch spell only charging one of the casters hands, leaving them free to do anything they want with the off hand

I agree with Plane Sailing on all points. I had never considered the idea that the caster might conjure the Touch spell on their off hand but I would invoke the normal penalties for that if they wanted to wield a weapon in their primary hand at the same time as they held the charge on the off hand.

P.S. Pielorinho, any chance of coaxing you and Spider down for NC Game Day V on the 25th? There WILL be prizes! There MIGHT be candy!
 

Rel, I was sort of planning on it, but life is interfering. I should know soon whether I'll be able to make it down.

Daniel
 

Pielorinho said:
Rel, I was sort of planning on it, but life is interfering. I should know soon whether I'll be able to make it down.

Daniel

I know all about it, brother. We'd love to have you if you can make it. If not, there's always next time. Until then I wish you well.
 


Remove ads

Top