What can you legally use from WOTC?

clockworkjoe

First Post
I've looked at opengamingfoundation.org and a OGL FAQ but I'm still unclear on using non OGL material from WOTC. For example, could I publish a module that uses hook horrors from the Monster Manual 2 like this:

Hook Horrors (4): hp x, y, a, b see MM2 page XX

Or is everything outside of the OGL off limits?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


What he said.

If it's in the SRD, you can use it. If it's not in the SRD, you can't.

Currently, there's nothing from MM2 in the SRD.
 


The simple answer is this:

You can't use ANYTHING in WotC books.

Exception: The final two creatures in the MM2 (originally from the CC).

That is the ONLY exception. Why? Because that is the only thing WotC has EVER published (in hard copy form) under the OGL.

You cannot use stuff from the Players Handbook. You cannot use stuff from the Dungeon Master's Guide. You cannot use stuff from the Monster Manual. You cannot use stuff from Deities and Demigods. And so on... if it is a book published by WotC, you cannot use ANY of it.

What CAN you use? The System Reference Document. You alluded to it at http://www.opengamingfoundation.org/srd.html - though I don't know if it has been updated yet (check the link to the WotC site).

In other words, if you want OGC, you must forget that the Player's Handbook, DMG, MM, MM2, and whatnot even exist. Go straight to the System Reference Document. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200.

So you can't use "Hook Horror" (though I suppose you could reference "two of the beasts illustrated on page 34 of the MM2") since they can't exclude you from mentioning "MM2" ("Monster Manual 2" is different).

Dumb? Perhaps. But that's the way it works.

You are correct in your final question. If it's outside the OGL, you can't touch it. All of WotC's books - except as mentioned specifically above (2 creatures) are outside the OGL. (They can do this because it's their system, though I really wish they wouldn't). It's as simple as that. :(

--The Sigil
 
Last edited:

I think it's silly you can't, though I understand the legal reasons why.

They should expand the OGL to let people use monster names, prestige class names and abilities, and so on from WotC products, so long as you include the proper disclaimers.

Hook Horrors* (4): hp x, y, a, b see MM2 page XX

*Hook Horrors is (c) Wizards of the Coast, and requires the use of the Monster Manual 2 published by Wizards of the Coast.

And mention everything used again in section 15.

Why couldn't this work? JUST THE NAMES, no mechanics. Every name "borrowed" would be clearly marked in several places that it's Wizards of the Coast's.

Just a thought. It won't happen.
 

You can use anything on the SRD, even monsters and spells and their names. It is the gentleman's agreement that if such things are changed after you have used them to make them non-OGL, you change them to make the work OGL compliant.
 


Leopold said:
all you can use is this:

Hook Horrors: Hp 60, see Monster Manual 2 page. XX


that's it...

That is only allowed under the ESD conversion policy. You cannot do this in a print product.
 

i am currently using the mm2 as a coaster, just got it today, it has already saved me from getting drawing wet.

is this ogc compliant?
 

Remove ads

Top