What Happens When An Entangled Monk Dimension Doors?


log in or register to remove this ad



I'd rule that abundant step can escape area based entangling effects (like a web or an entangle spell) but not targeted effects.

If somebody controls the trailing rope on a net I'd let them chose whether they keep the net and you're free or you have the net still entangling you.
 

robberbaron said:
So, what does 'perhaps' mean in Florida?

In England it means a possibility, not something definite.
It means the same thing here and "definitely not" means there is no possibility. I'm not disputing your ability to adjudicate it how you see fit, but there is zero possibility of the ability failing per the actual rules.
 

PHB Combat actions:
"Using a supernatural ability .... Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity."

So.. yup the Monk can Abundant Step out of a grapple, no concentration check required by the RAW.

Next fun question... can the NPC grappling your Monk be 'willing' to Step with you :)

I would say that targeted entangle effects stick with you when you Step, but spells like Entangle could be Step'd out of.

I would also allow a NPC to drop a net so that it goes with the Monk...but then again, some people think I am a mean GM :)
 

Primitive Screwhead said:
Next fun question... can the NPC grappling your Monk be 'willing' to Step with you :)

I'm actually surprised that Abundant Step allows you to bring people along. But anyway...

"You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature"

Both the monk and the target have to be willing. Sorry Big Baddie, no free rides.

Calypso
 

Infiniti2000 said:
However, this is trivially rejected with simple example: any dragon with snatch. The rules denote a case of breathing on a victim snatched in the mouth (no reflex save), but that case would be impossible under the above interpretation (breathing not being listed). Thus, #1 cannot be correct.

Well, Snatch allows you to grapple as though you had Improved Grab, which means the -20 option is open... which would permit the dragon to have a snatched creature in his mouth while not being considered grappled, and thus the limitations on actions-while-grappled would not apply...

... so even if #1 is correct, it does not make breathing on a snatched victim impossible.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top