What's Up With D&D? for Monday, 30 April 2012

Gaming Tonic

First Post
This week there was a little commotion with the departure of Monte Cook and you can read about that here. The open playtest was announced and lots of great articles on the direction of D&D Next, the board games, and even 4th Edition adventures, and materials were published on the website for fans and DDI subscribers. I am all signed up for the open playtest and have now been partially released from my NDA to share with you that I have been playtesting the next edition for several months now as a Friends & Family playtester. Since i was under an NDA I stayed clear of anything specific about the new edition and kept my opinions to a minimum here. If you are curious about any of the next edition you should sift through my D&D posts since December on my website where I have clandestinely been talking, after you finishing spending lots of time here at EN World.

• Fighter Design Goals by Mike Mearls lets you in on some of the plans for the classic class. The fighter is such a part of D&D and the next edition has some excellent ways to represent the versatility and reliability of the fighter. When the open playtest comes up in a few weeks you will see for yourself what I mean. Strong opinions are being batted around by the fans here.

[*]Face of the Moon by John “Ross” Rossomangno is not a side trek but a 27 page upper paragon level adventure. The maps are excellent and the story is easily set in any campaign world. I hate villains that eat my brains when I am player but love them when I am the DM. Several new items are included that are really cool, and I need to go and get some Greater Sleep Grenades soon.