• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Which Region in the Forgotten Realms and which Book?

plancktum

First Post
Hi,

one of my gaming groups is now switching to 5e and we decided to play in the Forgotten Realms (Faerun of Course) but not around the sword coast.

Now I've asked myself which region should I choose? I'm relatively new to the Forgotten Realms, so maybe you can recommend some regions?

And more importantly: Which Setting Book should I buy? The 3e Forgotten Realms Campaign Guide? Or better the 4e Version (which is still available as a printed version, which I like)?
Maybe a single Book about, e.g. the Moonsee?

I'm thankful for every suggestion!

best regards

phantomK9

Explorer
I've gotten a great deal of use out of the Silver Marches Campaign Book. It came out many years ago for 3e, but it has sustained 4 whole campaigns using 3 different systems (with little converting). It is by far one of the best books to come out of 3e.

Nellisir

Hero
The 3e Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting is far and away more useful than the 4e book. The current Princes of the Apocalypse adventure, and the starter adventure, are both set in the North, near the Silver Marches -- and I'll echo phantomK9 and say that the Silver Marches campaign book is one of the best I've ever seen.

So, the 3e FR guide and the Silver Marches campaign book.

graves3141

First Post
The 2nd and 3rd edition versions of the Realms are probably the best. Both give a bit more information on the Dalelands than the other regions of Faerun with the idea of having you start there, but you can, of course, choose to start your game somewhere besides Shadowdale.