Why can't I overrun in a charge!!???

I just don't allow overruns as part of a charge if the defender has a pole arm with 10 foot reach, or more. If they can overrun someone with just normal reach melee weapons they can only overrun one time, so if there is a second rank and the HP/AC wimps are in the third row you are OK. Plus then you have flanking opportunities between line one and two.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Actually, rather than protecting the back row guys, I believe it's to prevent you from charging through your friends' square.

Because pre-errata, you can't charge through a friend, but if you overrun them as part of your charge you can...

After all, charging past the mooks to get at the rear echelon of enemies is what an overrun is for. Not end-running around the rules. ;) So (imho) this is a great area for a simple house rule.
 

Actually, rather than protecting the back row guys, I believe it's to prevent you from charging through your friends' square.

I believe you are right. This was a MAJOR issue when the rules came out. People were complaining about it all over the place (this errata, by the way is over a year old, at least that part of the errata).

For those who don't remember the arguement, the summary is this:

1. You cannot charge if there are allies in the way.

2. You can overrun as part of a charge, and if the creatures just move out of the way, then you are still charging.

3. Why not overrun all your allies as part of a charge and just have them get out of the way, so you can ignore point 1.

There were a lot of threads about this. I'm mostly certain that the rules were changed because of that discussion.
 
Last edited:

Well, to that I agree. I also saw that but never allowed it in actual play...Maybe just removing the line that friends can avoid you (and the size line, the size line!! How can a human overrun a giant?) will make things better. If you "charge" through a friend, he goes down!
 

That may well be, but then, I've found the "you cannot charge through a friend" thing silly, also. You can move through them, but you can't charge through them? Riiiiight. :\

The new rule doesn't make sense to me, but it's nice to know what it is, anyway. Frankly, I don't need THAT much aggravation for a measly bonus to hit, that's offset by a poorer armor class anyway.
 
Last edited:

Henry said:
The new rule doesn't make sense to me, but it's nice to know what it is, anyway. Frankly, I don't need THAT much aggravation for a measly bonus to hit, that's offset by a poorer armor class anyway.

You never charge for the +2 to hit, it's always the double movement that does it! ;)
 


Remove ads

Top