D&D 5E Wild Shape, travel & exhaustion

keynup

Explorer
For exhaustion gained while in wild shape would you have it continue when you change back?
In particular if you gain exhaustion from forced march would you do it as well?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Balance wise it makes sense, but if none of the HP/damage from wild shape are connected to the real form, should it?

Mostly its just thought experiment, not a serious game situation.
 


Balance wise it makes sense, but if none of the HP/damage from wild shape are connected to the real form, should it?

Damage is not exhaustion. This isn't a very good analogy; better would be something like, "If you were in wild shape and were reduced to 0 hp by an effect that also poisoned and paralyzed you, would you stay paralyzed and poisoned?"

And the answer is absolutely yes. Wild shape is good enough as it is, and says nothing about removing conditions when it ends. There is no need to make it even more powerful.
 

Balance wise it makes sense, but if none of the HP/damage from wild shape are connected to the real form, should it?

Mostly its just thought experiment, not a serious game situation.
Given that excess damage carries over, I don't see why everything wouldn't carry over. Exception for restraints that are suddenly too large to restrict or something along those lines.
 


The DM might rule that a certain creature could travel further of for longer than a human (e.g. a timber wolf) before it suffers from exhaustion. But once it is exhausted the druid is exhausted in whatever form they take.

Also note the time limit on wildshape.
 

Remove ads

Top