Wildshaped wolves and improved trip

myradale

First Post
Simple question, probably been asked before.

Can a druid who has improved trip, while wildshaped into a wolf, attack...use the wolfs ability to trip after an attack... and then use improved trip to attack again after the trip?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm not sure as to the RAW, but I would guess no, because of the various other abilities that are available to PCs that allow free trips that don't work with improved trip to give an extra attack.
 


No.

IMPROVED TRIP [GENERAL]
Prerequisites: Int 13, Combat Expertise.
Benefit: You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when you attempt to trip an opponent while you are unarmed. You also gain a +4 bonus on your Strength check to trip your opponent.
If you trip an opponent in melee combat, you immediately get a melee attack against that opponent as if you hadn’t used your attack for the trip attempt.
Normal: Without this feat, you provoke an attack of opportunity when you attempt to trip an opponent while you are unarmed.
Special: At 6th level, a monk may select Improved Trip as a bonus feat, even if she does not have the prerequisites.
A fighter may select Improved Trip as one of his fighter bonus feats.

I would carefully note that "as if you hadn’t used your attack for the trip attempt" part. Since the attack was not used for a trip attempt, the free attack does not apply.
 

Ridley's Cohort said:
I would carefully note that "as if you hadn’t used your attack for the trip attempt" part. Since the attack was not used for a trip attempt, the free attack does not apply.

Actually, I'd say No, but for the opposite reason.

The attack was certainly used to Trip... but the attack you used to Trip was a special extra attack that can only be used to Trip. So if you 'hadn't used your attack for the trip attempt', you cuoldn't have done anything else... so an extra attack 'as if you hadn’t used your attack for the trip attempt' is no attack at all.

-Hyp.
 


Ridley's Cohort said:
No.



I would carefully note that "as if you hadn’t used your attack for the trip attempt" part. Since the attack was not used for a trip attempt, the free attack does not apply.

So does this mean that the Knockdown feat doesn't combine with Improved Trip?
 


IcyCool said:
So does this mean that the Knockdown feat doesn't combine with Improved Trip?

That's right.

The Sword and Fist errata, Sword and Fist FAQ, and Sword and Fist Second Printing all stated that explicitly, from memory.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top