Will actions

Rip

First Post
I couldn't find a clear rule on this, but could someone tell me what performing an action "at will" means?
Can a creature that can perform actions at will still attack etc in the same round? Is it considered a free action or something else. Thanx
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"At will" means there are no limits on how many times you can use the ability. That's as opposed to "three times per day", "once per week", etc. How long it takes you to use it depends on the ability.
 


But what kinds of actions then does it not become a free action?
Flying, invisibility, levitate? Where are the lines drawn where one can levitate at will and still perform an action, like take a potion cast a spell. etc. Is that allowed? Are actions at will a free action? What abilities would make it not so?
 

Actions "at will" are not free actions. As with all other spell-like and supernatural abilities, they take as long as they normally would if cast or performed by another character (unless specifically stated otherwise).

Some DMs house rule that such abilities only function when used on Will, but that's normally only when Will is a power hungry munchkin who needs to be nerfed, and when they're really reaching for humor by playing on really old puns.
 

Saying the action can be done 'at will' does not affect what sort of action it is. If a demon can teleport without error at will, it's still a spell like ability, and it still takes an action to do. The demon can just do it as many times as he wants.

Same with levitation. Still takes a move action to do it, but they can do it as often as they like.
 

Rip said:
But what kinds of actions then does it not become a free action?
Flying, invisibility, levitate? Where are the lines drawn where one can levitate at will and still perform an action, like take a potion cast a spell. etc. Is that allowed? Are actions at will a free action? What abilities would make it not so?
At will actions have no default action. The action depends on the ability or spell itself, and the ability or spell descriptions usually tell you what kind of action is required. At will, as was said earlier, means there is no limit on the number of times per day the ability can be used. Typically these kinds of things require a standard action to activate unless otherwise directed.

Levitatation requires a standard action to use, and a move action each round to move the creature or object up or down 20 feet. So a creature that can levitate at will must spend a standard action to activate the ability and move up 20 feet. On his next turn, he may move up or down 20 feet as a move action and then take any standard action he is able to take, like cast a spell, drink a potion, make an attack, etc.

Invisibility requires a standard action to activate. Thereafter, you are simply invisible. You may activate the invisibility and take a move action. If you attack, you become visible again and must use a standard action to reactivate the invisibility. If you have invisibility as an at will ability, you may become invisible anytime you want, but you must use a standard action to activate it.

Flying via the Fly spell requires a standard action to activate. Flying requires as much concentration as walking, according to the spell description, so you can attack and move normally while flying.
 

Remove ads

Top