Would you allow a medium creature to take exotic weapon prof.: large bastard sword?

Would you allow a medium creature to take exotic weapon prof.: large bastard sword?



log in or register to remove this ad

the Jester said:
No; Monkey Grip and EWP (Bastard Sword) is the combo you need to pull this off. I don't believe there is any such thing as "EWP (Large Bastard Sword)".
Yep, it's clearly covered by the rules in the PH and Complete Warrior. It would require two feats: Monkey Grip (to allow the use of weapons of a larger size), and Exotic Weapon Proficiency (Bastard Sword). That it's generally a dumb thing to do doesn't change the rules.
 
Last edited:

Moon-Lancer said:
power attacking great sword -2 = 11 points of damage
Should be 9.
oversided great sword with -2 panelty = 10.5 points of damage
Correct.
power attacking great sword -1 = 9 points of damage
Should be 8.
Oversided great sword with -1 panelty = 10.5 points of damage
Correct. Generally, like using a bastard sword (a really dumb waste of a feat), oversized weapons aren't worth it for medium creatures. For large creatures, it's another story.
 

Well considering that anybody with a Str high to take this supposed Exotic: Large Bastardsword Fullblade 3.5 feat would be better served with a Falchion... sure go for it. The only real benefit would be some "mine is bigger than yours!!" factor.

Other: The feat would be fine without some additional Str requirement. If you are worried about the physics of it, just say no. If a size medium human youngster can wield a Greatsword (as long as he can carry it, right?)...
 
Last edited:

tetsujin28 said:
Yep, it's clearly covered by the rules in the PH and Complete Warrior. It would require two feats: Monkey Grip (to allow the use of weapons of a larger size), and Exotic Weapon Proficiency (Bastard Sword). That it's generally a dumb thing to do doesn't change the rules.

Monkey Grip isn't necessary.

A Medium creature can wield a Large one-handed weapon with a -2 penalty, but it is considered a two-handed weapon for him.

Thus, with the EWP, a Medium creature can wield a Large bastard sword (a one-handed weapon) with a -2 penalty, but it is considered a two-handed weapon for him.

The difference Monkey Grip makes is that the weapon would not be considered a two-handed weapon; it would still be treated as a one-handed weapon despite the size difference.

-Hyp.
 

tetsujin28 said:
Should be 9.

Can you elaborate on your maths?

2d6 grants an average of 7 damage. Power Attacking with a two-handed weapon, taking a penalty of -2, grants +4 damage. 7 + 4 is 11, not 9...

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top