YAST (yet another stirge thread)

Coredump

Explorer
Sorry for *another* one. I did use search, and read the threads, and had *most* of my questions answered. But there are a couple of spots I wanted clarified.

Progression:

1. Stirge enters square, provokes AoO from melee weapon bearing PC's
2. Stirge doed *not* grapple. The stirge performs a touch attack, and if successful is "effectively" grappling.

(This raised the question of "Are they *actually* grappling?" So...
3. Is the victim only allowed small weapons? Hampened by spellcasting?
4. do ranged attacks still suffer the random hit chance?
5. Is the victim denied dex bonus, etc.

5. The victim can try and grapple the stirge.
6. Do size bonuses count?
7. If the victim is a monk, and grapples, can they also do unarmed strike damage?

8. In order to dislodge the stirge, you have to 'pin' it. (ex.win two grapple checks in a row)
9. What if you just want to pin it? can it still Blood Drain?

10. In one thread, it said that Blood drain was a free action. Where can I find that?

I think that is it.

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Stirge ..

online MM entry said:
Combat
A stirge attacks by landing on a victim, finding a vulnerable spot, and plunging its proboscis into the flesh. This is a touch attack and can target only Small or larger creatures.

Attach (Ex): If a stirge hits with a touch attack, it uses its eight pincers to latch onto the opponent’s body. An attached stirge is effectively grappling its prey. The stirge loses its Dexterity bonus to AC and has an AC of 12, but holds on with great tenacity. Stirges have a +12 racial bonus on grapple checks . { total of +1 when attached, -1 when not. Size and STR taken into account.}

An attached stirge can be struck with a weapon or grappled itself. To remove an attached stirge through grappling, the opponent must achieve a pin against the stirge.

Blood Drain (Ex): A stirge drains blood, dealing 1d4 points of Constitution damage in any round when it begins its turn attached to a victim. Once it has dealt 4 points of Constitution damage, it detaches and flies off to digest the meal. If its victim dies before the stirge’s appetite has been sated, the stirge detaches and seeks a new target.

>This raised the question of "Are they *actually* grappling?" So...
The Stirge is 'grappled', but not the target, makes for a weird situation.

>3. Is the victim only allowed small weapons? Hampened by spellcasting?
IMHO, only small weapons for the target to attack the Stirge, but no restrictions on attacking anybody else.
As the target is not 'effectively grappled', spellcasting is still an option, altho Concentration checks may be called for due to the ongoing damage {HR territory there}

>4. do ranged attacks still suffer the random hit chance?
Yes.
>5. Is the victim denied dex bonus, etc.
No.. at least until they enter a grapple with the Stirge.
>5. The victim can try and grapple the stirge.
I would determine if the target can 'reach the Stirge. Normally, as to not screw the party, they could. But on occassions they couldn't so the players can have teh enjoyment of the hulking fighter running about screaming "get it off me! get it of me!" :)
>6. Do size bonuses count?
Yes, if the Target attempts a Grapple, normal rules will apply.
>7. If the victim is a monk, and grapples, can they also do unarmed strike damage?
Yes, even if they are not a monk :)
>8. In order to dislodge the stirge, you have to 'pin' it. (ex.win two grapple checks in a row)
Yes, and that would leave you grappling an unattached Stirge. Dropping the Stirge is another issue :) IIRC, you would need to win a third grapple check to throw it away. Otherwise it may attempt to re-attach.
>9. What if you just want to pin it? can it still Blood Drain?
If you Pin and don't wish to remove it.. it will still be attached at the beggining of its turn and will Drain away.
>10. In one thread, it said that Blood drain was a free action?
Blood drain should technically considered an auto-success standard action. Instead of taking an Attack action on the turn it is already attached, it just drains blood. Once it is sated, or the target dies, it flies off. To avoid the 'Killer Bunny' approach, I would not grant the Stirge the ability to Blood Drain then double move or withdraw on the same turn.
 

Primitive Screwhead said:
>The Stirge is 'grappled', but not the target, makes for a weird situation.
Not that weird. It would be like the inverse of an improved grab with a -20 on the grapple check. In any case, I disagree that the target is not grappled. I think both are grappled (the stirge with auto-success via the touch attack). IMO, since it doesn't say that the target is not also grappled (like it does with improved grab and the -20 check), then the target is grappled.
 

Tiny Grapplers..

I think it makes good sense, and good play, to have the target character able to act normally in regards to other opponents. Having a Tiny creature clinging to your back should not make you lose your Dex.. {if it does, my Mage/Rogue will start practicing Summon Stirge :) }

Altho, you are correct that a literal reading would come to that conclusion. Gotta love clear terminoligy like 'effectively grappled' :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top