Yet more warlock questions

brehobit

Explorer
Warlock.... slowly driving me ...... crazy.....

Okay,
Lots of questions.

For hideous blow, can you use it with a two-handed weapon? I mean, it has a somatic component, so you need a hand free. But I really doubt that was the author's intent. It just seems... wierd....

For saving throws against EB effects. The "errata" says that all EB are level 1. Does this change the save DC against things like "frightning blast"? What about the DC for casting defesively?

Am I correct that using things like "fell flight" only take an action (and somatic components) to activate? So for 24 hours (baring a dispell) the Warlock has a flight speed?

While I'm on fell flight, would long strider add to a warlock's flight speed? It says it only adds to land speed, but fell flight uses land speed for flight speed.


Well, that's it for now....
 

log in or register to remove this ad

brehobit said:
For hideous blow, can you use it with a two-handed weapon? I mean, it has a somatic component, so you need a hand free. But I really doubt that was the author's intent. It just seems... wierd....

Yes. You can "adjust" your handling on a weapon as a free action.

brehobit said:
For saving throws against EB effects. The "errata" says that all EB are level 1. Does this change the save DC against things like "frightning blast"? What about the DC for casting defesively?

Eldritch Blast by itself does not give the opponent a saving throw. You simply have to make a ranged touch attack with it. When you apply a blast shape or essence to your blast, that effectively "ups" the spell level of Eldritch Blast. So Frightful Blast (equivalent to a 2nd level spell) would have a save DC of 10 + 2 (spell level of Frightful Blast) + Cha bonus.

Casting Defensively is going to have to wait for the official errata to come out. According to Complete Adventurer, Eldritch Blast is not an invocation, and the only time Defensive Casting is mentioned is when using an invocation. The errata changes this, and makes EB an invocation. In this case, I would say the Defensive Casting DC would be 15 + spell level (generally 16, but would be increased if he applies a essence or blast to it)

brehobit said:
Am I correct that using things like "fell flight" only take an action (and somatic components) to activate? So for 24 hours (baring a dispell) the Warlock has a flight speed?

This is correct.

brehobit said:
While I'm on fell flight, would long strider add to a warlock's flight speed? It says it only adds to land speed, but fell flight uses land speed for flight speed.

This too is correct.
 

RigaMortus said:
Yes. You can "adjust" your handling on a weapon as a free action.
But the attack and "HB" are all part of the same action. It seems you would need to have your hands on and off the weapon at exactly the same time. So I don't see that adjustment buys you much.


Eldritch Blast by itself does not give the opponent a saving throw. You simply have to make a ranged touch attack with it. When you apply a blast shape or essence to your blast, that effectively "ups" the spell level of Eldritch Blast. So Frightful Blast (equivalent to a 2nd level spell) would have a save DC of 10 + 2 (spell level of Frightful Blast) + Cha bonus.
Which seems to be different than CA states: "An Eldrich blas is the equivalent of a spell whose level is equal to 1/2 of the warlock's class level (round down)...
 

1: it was errated to be level 1, instead of 1/2 class level.
2: It is equal to that, or the blast shape, or eldritch essence level, whichever is highest.
3: My HR is that it is either level 1 or 1/2 class level, whichever one is more beneficial.
 

RigaMortus said:
Yes. You can "adjust" your handling on a weapon as a free action.

Unless you go by the Andy Collins suggestion in the 3.5 FAQ, which recommends 'the equivalent of drawing a weapon' (move action, or performed along with another move action if your BAB is +1 or greater).

-Hyp.
 

RM pretty much nailed it. To clarify the first question, though: you might be over thinking it a little. It's not really a standard invocation. The ability says, word for word: "As a standard action, you can make a single melee attack. If you hit, the target is affected as if struck by your Eldritch Blast..." You don't really need to invoke anything in the usual sense.

--Impeesa--
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top