For a few days, one of the wizard's premium control spells was 'Mage Hand'. Just a bit silly, and all that![]()
Thanks for the quick reply, I wasn't aware of that errata. It brings up another question about Flaming Sphere though. Flaming Sphere has the same wording as Mage Hand (Conjure a Medium Flaming Sphere in an unoccupied square within range), but I had assumed that it blocked entry into that square. Because of the errata, are creatures able to move freely through the square the flaming sphere is in? Furthermore, if a creature begins it's turn in the same square as the sphere, does it take damage? The sphere only deals its 1d4+Int mod if a creature is adjacent to it, not if it's occupying the same square.
Thanks for the quick reply, I wasn't aware of that errata. It brings up another question about Flaming Sphere though. Flaming Sphere has the same wording as Mage Hand (Conjure a Medium Flaming Sphere in an unoccupied square within range), but I had assumed that it blocked entry into that square. Because of the errata, are creatures able to move freely through the square the flaming sphere is in? Furthermore, if a creature begins it's turn in the same square as the sphere, does it take damage? The sphere only deals its 1d4+Int mod if a creature is adjacent to it, not if it's occupying the same square.
I would take the fact that Flaming Sphere needs to conjured into an unoccupied square as qualifying for the unless otherwise stated part of the errata. That is, FS occupies a square.
I agree with you, but Mage Hand has the same text of "conjure it into an unoccupied square," and the errata has said this doesn't qualify. My second point about the adjacent target was mostly meant to poke a little fun at the rules, I'm sure no DM in their right mind would rule that it doesn't deal damage to the person standing inside it.