Does Mage Hand block movement?

Krensus

First Post
I realize that this spell is a cantrip and probably shouldn't affect movement, but the rules for conjurations say that allies can move through the square a conjuration occupies but enemies cannot. Is there something I'm missing here?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Thanks for the quick reply, I wasn't aware of that errata. It brings up another question about Flaming Sphere though. Flaming Sphere has the same wording as Mage Hand (Conjure a Medium Flaming Sphere in an unoccupied square within range), but I had assumed that it blocked entry into that square. Because of the errata, are creatures able to move freely through the square the flaming sphere is in? Furthermore, if a creature begins it's turn in the same square as the sphere, does it take damage? The sphere only deals its 1d4+Int mod if a creature is adjacent to it, not if it's occupying the same square.
 


Does this mean that conjurations that say "occupy a square" do in fact block movement? This seems weird to me.

Edit: Like, wall of fire, wall of fog shouldn't block movement. I'm perfectly happy with a RAI handwave in this case, but it seems a strange RAW conclusion.
 
Last edited:

Thanks for the quick reply, I wasn't aware of that errata. It brings up another question about Flaming Sphere though. Flaming Sphere has the same wording as Mage Hand (Conjure a Medium Flaming Sphere in an unoccupied square within range), but I had assumed that it blocked entry into that square. Because of the errata, are creatures able to move freely through the square the flaming sphere is in? Furthermore, if a creature begins it's turn in the same square as the sphere, does it take damage? The sphere only deals its 1d4+Int mod if a creature is adjacent to it, not if it's occupying the same square.

Unforeseen consequences.

Two solutions:
1. Since it states a size (medium), it occupies the space of a medium creature.
2. Those inside take damage as though they were outside.

I think #1 is what is actually going on.
 

Thanks for the quick reply, I wasn't aware of that errata. It brings up another question about Flaming Sphere though. Flaming Sphere has the same wording as Mage Hand (Conjure a Medium Flaming Sphere in an unoccupied square within range), but I had assumed that it blocked entry into that square. Because of the errata, are creatures able to move freely through the square the flaming sphere is in? Furthermore, if a creature begins it's turn in the same square as the sphere, does it take damage? The sphere only deals its 1d4+Int mod if a creature is adjacent to it, not if it's occupying the same square.

I would take the fact that Flaming Sphere needs to conjured into an unoccupied square as qualifying for the unless otherwise stated part of the errata. That is, FS occupies a square.

If you don't buy that, I would assume that you'd buy that being in the square qualifies as being adjacent in terms of damage dealing.

If you think neither of those are reasonable, I think you're looney! :p
 

I would take the fact that Flaming Sphere needs to conjured into an unoccupied square as qualifying for the unless otherwise stated part of the errata. That is, FS occupies a square.

I agree with you, but Mage Hand has the same text of "conjure it into an unoccupied square," and the errata has said this doesn't qualify. My second point about the adjacent target was mostly meant to poke a little fun at the rules, I'm sure no DM in their right mind would rule that it doesn't deal damage to the person standing inside it.
 

I agree with you, but Mage Hand has the same text of "conjure it into an unoccupied square," and the errata has said this doesn't qualify. My second point about the adjacent target was mostly meant to poke a little fun at the rules, I'm sure no DM in their right mind would rule that it doesn't deal damage to the person standing inside it.

That's true, but I know plenty of players that would get pissed it didn't work like they wanted expected.

I mean, we already have a MageTank using Tenser's Floating Disk and a box... throw in a flaming sphere for a fire aura!

Edit: Damnit.... I want to do this now :D
 

Remove ads

Top