3 Questions- Temp HPs, 2H Wpns, Barbarian Rage

SteelCoyote

First Post
I've got 3 simple-seeming questions that I cannot find 'official' WotC answers to in any of the books, the FAQ or the (semi-retarded/useless) DDI Compendium.

If anyone knows the official answers, and where I can find them, I'd appreciate it as I'm both running and playing in two very "by the book" campaigns, and we're only using official canon.

Thanks in Advance!

1. Temp Hit Points:
p.293 PHB states
Don't Add Together: If you get temp HP from different sources, use the higher value as your temp HP total instead of adding the values together.

Question: What counts as a single "source"?

EX: Infernal Warlock, Dark One's Blessing: when an enemy under your warlock's curse is reduced to 0 HP, you immediately gain temp HP equal to your Level. 3 enemies under the Warlock's curse are simultaneously reduced to 0 HP, does the Warlock receive +9 temporary HP or only +3?

As I read it, the *source* is the Pact Boon Dark One's Blessing, not each individual enemy, therefore shouldn't the Warlock get +9 temporary Hit Points? (Clearly, if you used Vampiric Embrace in the same round, then those temporary HPs would *not* stack since they're from a second source/power).

However, won't all of the Dark One's Blessing's Temp HPs stack (in a pool separate from regular HPs) with each cursed enemy that is reduced to 0 HP for the rest of the encounter?

I cannot find anything that directly states that a "source" is each enemy and not the Pact Boon itself.

So, after dropping 3 enemies in the first round, and 'N' more during the encounter, the total Temp HP Pool should be +3 x 'N' creatures, correct?

For reference, the Star Pact Boon: Fate of the Void has a cumulative bonus (3 cursed enemies = +3 bonus)

Thoughts?

2. Two-Handed Weapon STR modifier damage
I cannot find anything that continues the previous-edition rule that 2H weapons add (1.5xSTR Modifier) to their damage instead of simply STR Modifier.

I also cannot find anything in the PHB or DMG that explicitly rules this out. The entry on two-handed weapons, p.215 is completely worthless.

A Versatile Weapon, used two-handed, adds +1 damage (p.217)

The closest I can find is that the Power Attack Feat (p.199 PHB) seems to suggest that 2H weapons add +1 extra damage when using the feat, but what of the default damage?


3. Barbarian Rage
I have difficulty with the wording of the class features description. As written, it seems that you cannot rage until the character is at least 5th level and has at least two daily powers to expend. Please see below:

Rage
Your daily attack powers are known as rages, and they allow you to unleash powerful bursts of emotion, willpower, and primal energy. Each rage starts with a powerful attack and then grants an ongoing benefit until the rage ends.

Rage Strike Barbarian Feature
You channel your primal rage into a devastating attack.
At-Will Primal, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
Target: One creature
Effect: Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
Hit: You deal damage based on the level of the rage
power you expended:
1st level 3[W] + Strength modifier
...
Miss: Half damage.

So, as my 1st level Barbarian enters combat, he wants to initiate Bloodhunt Rage and access his related powers, however it seems like he cannot use Rage Strike since:
1) You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
2) Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.

How does a 1st level character accomplish both of the above with only one Daily Power (Rage) use per day?

If I want to rage, then I have to use my Bloodhunt Rage Daily power in order to activate it, but if I activate the rage then I no longer have an unused rage power, thus while raging I cannot use Rage Strike...until 5th Level?

Correct?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

1. Nothing counts. You don't stack Temp HP ever.

2. 2H weapons don't get 1.5x bonus.

3. Rage Strike isn't meant to be used all the time at all levels. It's merely a way to use up extra dailies in a single encounter. If you don't have spare dailies, you don't need it.
 

Thanks in Advance!

1. Temp Hit Points:
p.293 PHB states
Don't Add Together: If you get temp HP from different sources, use the higher value as your temp HP total instead of adding the values together.
Source hasn't changed in 4th, even in 3rd edition, the same use of the same power was the same source.

2. Two-Handed Weapon STR modifier damage
I cannot find anything that continues the previous-edition rule that 2H weapons add (1.5xSTR Modifier) to their damage instead of simply STR Modifier.
D&D is this is what it does game: if it doesn't say you can then it doesn't say you can.

Just because it did in a previous version doesn't matter.
Darkness used to eminate darkness in 2nd edition, but not in 3.5 (gives off shadowy illumination, candle light).

So no, 2 handed does nothing by itself.
Combined with other things it does:
Power attack, Certain Fighter powers, etc.
3. Barbarian Rage
I have difficulty with the wording of the class features description. As written, it seems that you cannot rage until the character is at least 5th level and has at least two daily powers to expend. Please see below:

Rage
Your daily attack powers are known as rages, and they allow you to unleash powerful bursts of emotion, willpower, and primal energy. Each rage starts with a powerful attack and then grants an ongoing benefit until the rage ends.

Rage Strike Barbarian Feature
You channel your primal rage into a devastating attack.
At-Will Primal, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
Target: One creature
Effect: Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
Hit: You deal damage based on the level of the rage
power you expended:
1st level 3[W] + Strength modifier
...
Miss: Half damage.

So, as my 1st level Barbarian enters combat, he wants to initiate Bloodhunt Rage and access his related powers, however it seems like he cannot use Rage Strike since:
1) You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
2) Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.

How does a 1st level character accomplish both of the above with only one Daily Power (Rage) use per day?

If I want to rage, then I have to use my Bloodhunt Rage Daily power in order to activate it, but if I activate the rage then I no longer have an unused rage power, thus while raging I cannot use Rage Strike...until 5th Level?

Correct?
You were reading it wrong.

Rage Strike is a Strike you deal while in Rage. Not a Strike to become Raged.

You have to be Raging to use it so your interpretation doesn't work.


I mean did you miss this line: Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.

If Rage Strike = Rage you couldn't activate it.

If Rage Strike was just another a attack you can use while raging from Dailies: then you can activate it.
And guess what?
That is what Rage Strike is.

It is what the Level 5 Fighters/Clerics/Rogue/Wizards/Paladins does:
He can use 2 dailies in a battle if he needs to (like a Solo):

The Barbarian can't use 2 dailies in same battle unless he wants to end his current rage to use another Rage (Rages can't be both active at same time). Instead, the Barb can fuel a Rage Strike (with his level 5 Rage Daily) while in his level 1 Rage Daily.

That is what Rage Strike is: a method to let Barbarian feel left out in the Daily attacks montage.
 


So if there's no bonus, then a Bastard Sword used two-handed is more effective than a Greatsword used two-handed sword since Versatile weapons gain +1 damage and the GS doesn't?

That makes no sense...
Bastardswords are superior weapons: They better be better if they take a feat.
That does make sense.
 

Source hasn't changed in 4th, even in 3rd edition, the same use of the same power was the same source.

Yes, but if you reduce 3 cursed opponents to 0 in the same round (as a player did in my last game with a single attack) then it's the same use of the same power, and it seems like it should be cumulative since it's a single source--the Pact Boon.

You were reading it wrong.

Rage Strike is a Strike you deal while in Rage. Not a Strike to become Raged.

You have to be Raging to use it so your interpretation doesn't work.


I mean did you miss this line: Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.

If Rage Strike = Rage you couldn't activate it.

If Rage Strike was just another a attack you can use while raging from Dailies: then you can activate it.
And guess what?
That is what Rage Strike is.

It is what the Level 5 Fighters/Clerics/Rogue/Wizards/Paladins does:
He can use 2 dailies in a battle if he needs to (like a Solo):

The Barbarian can't use 2 dailies in same battle unless he wants to end his current rage to use another Rage (Rages can't be both active at same time). Instead, the Barb can fuel a Rage Strike (with his level 5 Rage Daily) while in his level 1 Rage Daily.

"Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage" is the heart of my question--since you'd have to be at least 5th Level in order to have 2 Daily powers, one to initiate the Rage, and one to blow on the Rage Strike because "Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power."

Bloodhunt Rage (or any other Rage) IS a Daily, and you must use it in order to enter Rage in order to use your rage-related powers, and then you must also expend a second unused Daily rage power in order to use Rage Strike--so you cannot use Rage Strike until at least 5th Level...

...which, to me, means that Rage Strike should be a 5th Level Daily power of its own, and not a class ability since it's not initially useable like all other class abilities/features are.
 

Bloodhunt Rage (or any other Rage) IS a Daily, and you must use it in order to enter Rage in order to use your rage-related powers, and then you must also expend a second unused Daily rage power in order to use Rage Strike--so you cannot use Rage Strike until at least 5th Level...

...which, to me, means that Rage Strike should be a 5th Level Daily power of its own, and not a class ability since it's not initially useable like all other class abilities/features are.

You're right on both counts, and it's been brought up so many times on so many boards that I'd be shocked if Rage Strike made it through playtesting exactly as it appears in the Dragon article, unless they also add in some Encounter powers that are rages.
 

Yes, but if you reduce 3 cursed opponents to 0 in the same round (as a player did in my last game with a single attack) then it's the same use of the same power, and it seems like it should be cumulative since it's a single source--the Pact Boon.

The General rule in 4ed is that bonuses from the same source never stack (yes, Temp HP are bonuses), but that bonuses from different sources do stack.

The rule for temporary hit points only has to state that temp HP from different sources don't stack (specific beats general) since that is the only general rule superceeded. Just because Temp HP from different sources don't stack does not mean that Temp HP from the same source does stack.

The FAQ kinda spells this out as well. (tho they could have done a better job of phrasing it)...temporary HP never stack, no matter the source.
 

You're right on both counts, and it's been brought up so many times on so many boards that I'd be shocked if Rage Strike made it through playtesting exactly as it appears in the Dragon article, unless they also add in some Encounter powers that are rages.


This is not necessarily correct.

You are forgetting about forward compatibility.

For example, a 1st level barbarian wearing Veteran's armor (Adventurer's Vault) can regain a daily and thus use the Rage Strike ability:







Veteran's Armor
Level 2+
Battered and worn, this unassuming armor helps you get the most out of your experiences.
Lvl 2 +1 520 gp Lvl 17 +4 65,000 gp
Lvl 7 +2 2,600 gp Lvl 22 +5 325,000 gp
Lvl 12 +3 13,000 gp Lvl 27 +6 1,625,000 gp
Armor: Any
Enhancement: AC
Property: When you spend an action point, you gain a +1 item bonus to all attack rolls and defenses until the end of your next turn.
Power (Daily):Free Action. Spend an action point. You do not gain the normal extra action. Instead, you regain the use of one expended daily power

And there may well be other ways to regain dailies in the future.

(But it wouldn't surprise me if they add a note to the effect that the ability is not typically useful at lower levels).




Carl
 
Last edited:

Bastardswords are superior weapons: They better be better if they take a feat.
That does make sense.
Plus, Adventurer's Vault introduces Superior two-handed weapons like the fullbade which also cost a feat to gain proficiency with and which outperform the bastard sword when used two-handed. As they should.
 

Remove ads

Top