SteelCoyote
First Post
I've got 3 simple-seeming questions that I cannot find 'official' WotC answers to in any of the books, the FAQ or the (semi-retarded/useless) DDI Compendium.
If anyone knows the official answers, and where I can find them, I'd appreciate it as I'm both running and playing in two very "by the book" campaigns, and we're only using official canon.
Thanks in Advance!
1. Temp Hit Points:
p.293 PHB states
Don't Add Together: If you get temp HP from different sources, use the higher value as your temp HP total instead of adding the values together.
Question: What counts as a single "source"?
EX: Infernal Warlock, Dark One's Blessing: when an enemy under your warlock's curse is reduced to 0 HP, you immediately gain temp HP equal to your Level. 3 enemies under the Warlock's curse are simultaneously reduced to 0 HP, does the Warlock receive +9 temporary HP or only +3?
As I read it, the *source* is the Pact Boon Dark One's Blessing, not each individual enemy, therefore shouldn't the Warlock get +9 temporary Hit Points? (Clearly, if you used Vampiric Embrace in the same round, then those temporary HPs would *not* stack since they're from a second source/power).
However, won't all of the Dark One's Blessing's Temp HPs stack (in a pool separate from regular HPs) with each cursed enemy that is reduced to 0 HP for the rest of the encounter?
I cannot find anything that directly states that a "source" is each enemy and not the Pact Boon itself.
So, after dropping 3 enemies in the first round, and 'N' more during the encounter, the total Temp HP Pool should be +3 x 'N' creatures, correct?
For reference, the Star Pact Boon: Fate of the Void has a cumulative bonus (3 cursed enemies = +3 bonus)
Thoughts?
2. Two-Handed Weapon STR modifier damage
I cannot find anything that continues the previous-edition rule that 2H weapons add (1.5xSTR Modifier) to their damage instead of simply STR Modifier.
I also cannot find anything in the PHB or DMG that explicitly rules this out. The entry on two-handed weapons, p.215 is completely worthless.
A Versatile Weapon, used two-handed, adds +1 damage (p.217)
The closest I can find is that the Power Attack Feat (p.199 PHB) seems to suggest that 2H weapons add +1 extra damage when using the feat, but what of the default damage?
3. Barbarian Rage
I have difficulty with the wording of the class features description. As written, it seems that you cannot rage until the character is at least 5th level and has at least two daily powers to expend. Please see below:
Rage
Your daily attack powers are known as rages, and they allow you to unleash powerful bursts of emotion, willpower, and primal energy. Each rage starts with a powerful attack and then grants an ongoing benefit until the rage ends.
Rage Strike Barbarian Feature
You channel your primal rage into a devastating attack.
At-Will Primal, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
Target: One creature
Effect: Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
Hit: You deal damage based on the level of the rage
power you expended:
1st level 3[W] + Strength modifier
...
Miss: Half damage.
So, as my 1st level Barbarian enters combat, he wants to initiate Bloodhunt Rage and access his related powers, however it seems like he cannot use Rage Strike since:
1) You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
2) Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
How does a 1st level character accomplish both of the above with only one Daily Power (Rage) use per day?
If I want to rage, then I have to use my Bloodhunt Rage Daily power in order to activate it, but if I activate the rage then I no longer have an unused rage power, thus while raging I cannot use Rage Strike...until 5th Level?
Correct?
If anyone knows the official answers, and where I can find them, I'd appreciate it as I'm both running and playing in two very "by the book" campaigns, and we're only using official canon.
Thanks in Advance!
1. Temp Hit Points:
p.293 PHB states
Don't Add Together: If you get temp HP from different sources, use the higher value as your temp HP total instead of adding the values together.
Question: What counts as a single "source"?
EX: Infernal Warlock, Dark One's Blessing: when an enemy under your warlock's curse is reduced to 0 HP, you immediately gain temp HP equal to your Level. 3 enemies under the Warlock's curse are simultaneously reduced to 0 HP, does the Warlock receive +9 temporary HP or only +3?
As I read it, the *source* is the Pact Boon Dark One's Blessing, not each individual enemy, therefore shouldn't the Warlock get +9 temporary Hit Points? (Clearly, if you used Vampiric Embrace in the same round, then those temporary HPs would *not* stack since they're from a second source/power).
However, won't all of the Dark One's Blessing's Temp HPs stack (in a pool separate from regular HPs) with each cursed enemy that is reduced to 0 HP for the rest of the encounter?
I cannot find anything that directly states that a "source" is each enemy and not the Pact Boon itself.
So, after dropping 3 enemies in the first round, and 'N' more during the encounter, the total Temp HP Pool should be +3 x 'N' creatures, correct?
For reference, the Star Pact Boon: Fate of the Void has a cumulative bonus (3 cursed enemies = +3 bonus)
Thoughts?
2. Two-Handed Weapon STR modifier damage
I cannot find anything that continues the previous-edition rule that 2H weapons add (1.5xSTR Modifier) to their damage instead of simply STR Modifier.
I also cannot find anything in the PHB or DMG that explicitly rules this out. The entry on two-handed weapons, p.215 is completely worthless.
A Versatile Weapon, used two-handed, adds +1 damage (p.217)
The closest I can find is that the Power Attack Feat (p.199 PHB) seems to suggest that 2H weapons add +1 extra damage when using the feat, but what of the default damage?
3. Barbarian Rage
I have difficulty with the wording of the class features description. As written, it seems that you cannot rage until the character is at least 5th level and has at least two daily powers to expend. Please see below:
Rage
Your daily attack powers are known as rages, and they allow you to unleash powerful bursts of emotion, willpower, and primal energy. Each rage starts with a powerful attack and then grants an ongoing benefit until the rage ends.
Rage Strike Barbarian Feature
You channel your primal rage into a devastating attack.
At-Will Primal, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Requirement: You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
Target: One creature
Effect: Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
Hit: You deal damage based on the level of the rage
power you expended:
1st level 3[W] + Strength modifier
...
Miss: Half damage.
So, as my 1st level Barbarian enters combat, he wants to initiate Bloodhunt Rage and access his related powers, however it seems like he cannot use Rage Strike since:
1) You must be raging and have at least one unused rage power.
2) Before the attack, you expend an unused rage power.
How does a 1st level character accomplish both of the above with only one Daily Power (Rage) use per day?
If I want to rage, then I have to use my Bloodhunt Rage Daily power in order to activate it, but if I activate the rage then I no longer have an unused rage power, thus while raging I cannot use Rage Strike...until 5th Level?
Correct?
Last edited: