[3.0] Trip a charging opponent, can the opponent stand up?

you're kidding - you're using the SRD as the rules source for the game?

The SRD is not complete, in my experience.

I'll take the PHB as a rules source over the SRD in a heartbeat.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

reapersaurus said:
you're kidding - you're using the SRD as the rules source for the game?

The SRD is not complete, in my experience.

I'll take the PHB as a rules source over the SRD in a heartbeat.

The SRD is a good source to use. The charge attack does consume a full round. The reason the PHB does not come right out and say it is because it indeed is a special standard action. In fact, it has it's own little line when you look at the chart for what actions can be performed in a round. A charge can't be broken down into a Move Equivalent / Standard Action. If you could do this, then that would introduce the ability to line up with the Move Equivalent and then use the Standard Action to charge. I have found that the SRD contains better information than the PHB. In most cases, the SRD has the erratta applied too.

However, I do not use the SRD as a single source of information. I look at all things before I make a final ruling. This includes Eratta, FAQs, Dragon Magazine, WOTC website, EN World, other WOTC books.

Back to the issue on hand, it looks like the consensus among my players is that the charge has been disrupted by the trip and the opponent can no longer do any other action that round. They have some good supporting points on why it should be that way. So, that brings me to look at all of the other "Full-Round" actions and ask, can all of these be disrupted and the opponent no longer do anything at all for the rest of the round? That is truly a can of worms.

I am looking for a hard fast rule on what trip can and can't interrupt. I haven't been able to find anything concrete in any of the books.

Thank you everyone for your input.

LT
 

Locpik said:
I think he is playing 3.0.....
I don't think so... Like the trip with the chains, being able to change your action in the middle of the action you started does not seem right... (if it is a full-round action)

To be able to trip with the chains, he/she would need to spend three feats... you should think about that too....



Here are some examples of full-round actions to look at when considering the affects of a trip attack.

A fighter is about to make 3 attacks - but a readied opponent trips him instead. Can he change his plans and stand up and make one attack?

A Wizard is about to cast a full-round spell - but that triggers an AoO and he gets tripped. Can he still cast the spell? (what would the DC be?) Can he decide not to cast the spell (thus losing the spell slot) and choose to stand up?

An NPC is going to light a torch (full-round action), but get's tripped by the AoO, can the NPC still light the torch?

As for spending three feats to be able to trip with chains, that's incorrect. Only 1 feat is needed to use chains- Exoctic Weapon Proficiency. Any other feats such as Improved Trip or Knockdown is not required to trip with chains.

LT
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top