• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

[4e] Combat Tracker Utility

Mortaneus

First Post
(cross-posted from RPG.net)

I've been running a 4e game for a while now, and I use my laptop as my GM screen.

As such, I've spent a decent amount of time examining the various digital assistant offerings out there. I've mainly been using Virtual Combat Cards, MasterPlan, and OneNote to do what I want to do.

All are excellent offerings. However, none of them have exactly the feature set I want while running a fight. Since I prefer to fix rather than complain, I went about writing my own (being a programmer myself).

The first version is done, and I'm putting it up here for the world to examine, use, curse at, and lampoon.

DnD4e Combat Manager Page

The specifics:
  • Windows XP and later only
  • Requires .NET Framework 3.5 installed (if you have the Character Builder or Monster Builder installed, you have this)
  • Can paste 'Copy to Rich Text' data from the Monster Builder on DnDi (button above the list on Compendium window, also button on individual detail screen).
  • Full initiative tracking.
  • Allows common HP/XP House Rules options to modify monsters (Dropdown titled 'Mod': Demi = 1/2hp+2/3xp, Semi = 1/4hp+1/3xp, Minion = 1hp+1/4xp)
  • Displays full statblock on the main window. No need to bounce around looking for information (main reason I wrote this).
  • Text-entry field for notes on each combatant (will be adding custom status/ongoing tracking later...for now, this suffices)

It is still a work-in-progress, but I figured I'd throw this version out into the wild for perusal.

Please let me know what you like, hate, or want. I'll be monitoring this thread.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Mortaneus

First Post
More updates from the RPG.net thread here: