D&D 2E 5e monsters and spells in ad&d 2e

Terraproxy

First Post
Hi there!

I have a silly question:
what would happen if I use 5e monsters and spells in a 2e campaign?
I mean, not converted or anything, just drop the stuff as it is against the pcs created with the 2e system.
I'm saying this because I'm totally new to tabletop gaming and I could not find backwards conversion guides...
(I found lots of guides about older modules being converted to 5e and some about 3e to 2e, but nothing specific about 5e to 2e... don't know if it's possible to begin with:-S)
I kind of heard that 5e returns to the feeling of pre d20 systems, so I thought that maybe ad&d and 5e are not that different?
maybe I missed the discussions in here about all of this, so if someone has the links and is willing to share I'll love you forever:eek:
Also, I don't particularly care for perfect balance. I play alone, so as long the scenes are satisfactory I'm set, in fact, the more unbanlced is against pcs the better!:devil:
thank you all for time!;)

Last edited:

TBeholder

Explorer
what would happen if I use 5e monsters and spells in a 2e campaign?
Which ones, and why?
And more specifically - which ones you couldn't find in AD&D2 sources?
I kind of heard that 5e returns to the feeling of pre d20 systems, so I thought that maybe ad&d and 5e are not that different?
Not really.
IMHO it's more of a backport. Mix of elements from D&D3, 4 and retroclones (like C&C).
I mean, not converted or anything, just drop the stuff as it is against the pcs created with the 2e system.
How do you imagine it? They aren't fully compatible.
Anyway, depends on the level. Consider that in D&D5 magic is nerfed from D&D3 in ridiculous ways, while in AD&D2 not only spells like Hold Person don't allow saving throws every round, but there's Hold Undead (and Hold Vapour) on the list, and Web works properly, and so on.

Terraproxy

First Post
Perhaps this needs some context: