• Resources are back! Use the menu in the main navbar. If you own a resource, please check it for formatting, icons, etc.

[5e] Spell - Reincarnate - Can the "piece" be harvested BEFORE I die?

Delazar

Explorer
The spells mentions "You touch a dead humanoid or a piece of a dead humanoid."

Can I harvest the "piece" in advance (say, a tooth) while I'm still alive, and then cast Reincarnate on the tooth?

I've recently been disintegrated, and there's no "pieces" left of my dead humanoid body...

But another PC has one of my teeth (it's a long story)... would that work?

Additional question. Disintegrate mentions "the creature can be restored to life only by means of a True Resurrection or a Wish spell". Does it mean Reincarnate won't work?
 

dnd4vr

Adventurer
I don't see any reason why not. After all, the tooth is a piece of you.

I imagine the wording for Disintegrate was due to their thinking no pieces would be left.

All that being said, reincarnate would restore you at the point you were at when the tooth was removed. If the tooth was taken when you were 5th level, and you were disintegrated when you were 15th, you would be restored to 5th level.

That is how we would probably rule it anyway.
 

Fanaelialae

Adventurer
This is an unusual scenario, so it would be up to the DM.

By strict RAW, I'd say no, since Disintegrate says only True Resurrection works.

That said, I agree with @dnd4vr that this is a scenario the designers didn't consider. I would probably allow Reincarnate to work in these circumstances.

Finally, I wouldn't reduce your level to when the tooth was harvested. That sort of thing happened in older editions, but it doesn't mesh well with 5e in my opinion. 5e did away with level loss.
 

77IM

Explorer!!!
I have allowed this in the past.

The kenku wizard was shedding feathers all over the battle. Then, when he was polymorphed into a large bird, the beholder turned its anti-magic eye towards him, and the wizard changed back into a flightless kenku and fell onto a disintegration field (it's like a force field, but it disintegrates you). The party remembered what I had said about the feathers earlier, grabbed some, and they happened to have a druid handy to reincarnate.

The reason I allowed this is because it opens up some interesting story possibilities. Like, one way to capture some one would be to get a piece of them (a hair, say) and then assassinate them and then secretly reincarnate them. It might mean druids bank pieces of their allies (vials of blood, say) to reincarnate if needed, and those banks could be stolen and used for nefarious purposes (scrying, say).
 

coolAlias

Explorer
Allowing it also gives reincarnate a decent use case, when most people would prefer raise dead as it is the same spell level, doesn't randomly change your race, and has material costs of only 500 gp instead of 1000 gp.
 

gargoyleking

Explorer
The funny thing is 3.5 Reincarnate didn't cost anything I believe. I think the 'cost' was tied up in the randomness that the new form would take. Of course, i had a human reincarnated into a dwarf and couldn't be happier with the outcome. (Lost nothing from being human and gained most of the dwarf bonuses.)

Also, were I a DM, I would totally allow this.
 

jasper

Rotten DM
The spells mentions "You touch a dead humanoid or a piece of a dead humanoid."

Can I harvest the "piece" in advance (say, a tooth) while I'm still alive, and then cast Reincarnate on the tooth?

I've recently been disintegrated, and there's no "pieces" left of my dead humanoid body...

But another PC has one of my teeth (it's a long story)... would that work?

Additional question. Disintegrate mentions "the creature can be restored to life only by means of a True Resurrection or a Wish spell". Does it mean Reincarnate won't work?
No, you are trying to cheese the result of the disintegrate. Or Yes, and evil Druid just cast reincarnate on the tooth, your current pc becomes soulless and a demon or my ex wife moves into its body. Run away. No you are dust. You took a powder. You are something to sneeze at. So Reincarnate will not work.
Now if you give me the long story I may allow it this once. And that once for the whole table.
 

Saelorn

Adventurer
The spells mentions "You touch a dead humanoid or a piece of a dead humanoid."

Can I harvest the "piece" in advance (say, a tooth) while I'm still alive, and then cast Reincarnate on the tooth?
I would say that this doesn't work, because the piece was never a part of a dead humanoid.
 

coolAlias

Explorer
I would say that this doesn't work, because the piece was never a part of a dead humanoid.
That's a fair, logical ruling. As a player, I'd be disappointed, but I'd be fine with it, especially since it means that disintegrate remains a viable method of keeping the BBEG down, at least until a few levels later.
 

billd91

Hobbit on Quest
Additional question. Disintegrate mentions "the creature can be restored to life only by means of a True Resurrection or a Wish spell". Does it mean Reincarnate won't work?
I'm going to echo Jasper in that I wouldn't allow using reincarnate on a pre-death donated body part to get around disintegrate's complication. Allowing it would also, in effect, steal a chunk of the clone spell's thunder. I don't particularly want to undercut the provisions of or roles of higher level spells with a cheaper resource.
 

billd91

Hobbit on Quest
I'm also a bit disappointed that raise dead is cheaper than reincarnate. Those costs should be reversed, in my estimation. Though, I suppose, the potential to have a more whole/less maimed, if different, body could be of some value.
 
I like reincarnate because it leads to interesting stories. It's way cooler than animate dead. Disintegrate destroys your whole body so there's nothing left of the body, it does not specifically nullify other spells, IMO. But, as a DM, if I allowed this, I'd use this trick for (an)enemies. Maybe a powerful nemesis is owed a favour by a druid and said druid has a piece of that person's body in the event the PCs kill him. Or, at the very least, an enemy discovers this is possible and takes precautions.
 

gargoyleking

Explorer
Also, keep in mind that not everybody has a druid in their hip pocket. BBEG's included. Besides, this is something that should simply be left up to to the DM to decide. It could make for an interesting plot device, (including bringing back a particularly intriguing enemy character.)
 

5ekyu

Adventurer
RAW, not part of a dead body blows the missing tooth...


But...

At 3rd level, get yourself killed and your cleric friend to use Revivify inside a minute. Do this during downtime. Costs like 300 gold in dismonds.

While dead, have him lop off a bit for keeping.

Now after being revived you have a piece of you that was "from a dead body" for later reincarnate.

I cannot see that as not RAW.

To me, this us much less about the wording of disintegrate as it is the odds that you cannot get the body back. If the party has to run after your character is fallen and cant get to you or knows thry have a bit in the closet they don't have to risk to get the body.

Personally, unless I wanna come up with lore, I am likely in my game to waive the dead body part and allow a live part to be ok.
 

Blue

Orcus on a bad hair day
As a DM, I'd definitely allow this if the player was up for it. What a cool story! And really, if my game generates cool stories that get told by my players to others that's a win in my book. Plus the player has to deal with the fact that their character has been reincarnated into another body which is another big thing. To quote Professor Hulk: "I see this as an Absolute Win."

Really, a player willing to come back (which keeps their character arc going and such) instead of making a new character is always good for me as a DM. Having them come back in a way with so many long term repercussions is fantastic.

As a side note, while it wouldn't stop me either way, I think the RAW about being part of a dead body is ambiguous if the body needs to be dead before a part is taken, or if a part of a body that is now dead is all that is needed. So with no definitive reading it's up to a DM Ruling. (I kind of can't picture why a DM would say no to it for most campaigns, though some gritty ones I can picture it.)
 

gargoyleking

Explorer
Only reason I can see to say no is if the players get the idea to just start mutitilating their characters to have a piece available for ressurecting. Defeats the spirit of Rule of Cool.
 

MarkB

Hero
At 3rd level, get yourself killed and your cleric friend to use Revivify inside a minute. Do this during downtime. Costs like 300 gold in dismonds.

While dead, have him lop off a bit for keeping.

Now after being revived you have a piece of you that was "from a dead body" for later reincarnate.

I cannot see that as not RAW.
What about the time constraint? Do you need to renew your 'insurance policy' once every 10 days?
 

gargoyleking

Explorer
What about the time constraint? Do you need to renew your 'insurance policy' once every 10 days?
At this point, we're really getting into individual DM discretion territory. Also, probably some alignment issues. Depending on the characters involved.
 

Greenfield

Adventurer
We've always played that the "piece" had to have been part of you when you died.

Consider though: Does Disintegrate take your gear as well? This has varied through editions and I honestly can't recall that detail from 5th.

If there's stuff remaining, look through the clothing for a bloodstain. It will be there if the character took any other damage in the fight. Their blood, on their person at the time of their death would qualify, wouldn't it?

As for Reincarnate v Disintegrate: I'm kind of a rules guy. In earlier editions Reincarnate and Resurrection would both create a new body, and the revived person suffered some penalties. True Resurrection restored them to life without penalties.

So, to me, if it says True Res' it means True Res'. (Yeah, I know the "penalties" thing isn't clear or overtly meaningful in 5e and may not be there at all, but it's the fine line that differentiates the spells.)
 

Advertisement

Top