Accurate staff as a weapon?

Shin Okada

Explorer
Accurate staff (Superior Implement) has Accurate property which says,

Accurate (You gain a +1 bonus to attack rolls made with an accurate implement.).

This rule text just say "attack rolls" and don't say implement attack or something.

Does that mean an Accurate staff gains +1 to attack when used as a weapon?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say no - as it isn't an implement when you are using it for weapon attacks... and therefore not qualifying for the "when made with an accurate implement" requirement.
 

The answer is no because Superior Implement Properties explicitly only work on implement powers.

I would say no - as it isn't an implement when you are using it for weapon attacks... and therefore not qualifying for the "when made with an accurate implement" requirement.

Right answer, wrong reason. Weapons used as implements and implements used as weapons never stop being weapons or implements. 'Being used as an implement' or 'as a weapon' do not exist as rules constructs. The correct rules construct is 'with weapon powers' or 'with implement powers' and restrictions of those nature are explicitly described. See above as an example.
 
Last edited:

The answer is no because Superior Implement Properties explicitly only work on implement powers.

Thanks, I found that part in PHB P.195.

And the related question. If I were a fighter and has Fighter Weapon Talent (two-handed weapons), and used a staff as an implement, can I get +1 to attack rolls?

I guess in this case the answer is yes. Because there is no mention that this feature is applied only to weapon attacks.
 

Thanks, I found that part in PHB P.195.

And the related question. If I were a fighter and has Fighter Weapon Talent (two-handed weapons), and used a staff as an implement, can I get +1 to attack rolls?

I guess in this case the answer is yes. Because there is no mention that this feature is applied only to weapon attacks.

Correct.
 



Hmm, maybe tempest fighter is a better option? If I take Staff Fighting feat, the staff gains off-hand property (at least for one head). That means, +1 to attack & +2 damage to invoker close power.
 

Hmm, maybe tempest fighter is a better option? If I take Staff Fighting feat, the staff gains off-hand property (at least for one head). That means, +1 to attack & +2 damage to invoker close power.

On the one hand, you can't use the off-hand property of a weapon with implement attacks. On the other hand, Staff Fighting allows you to Dual Implement...
 

On the one hand, you can't use the off-hand property of a weapon with implement attacks.

Can't I? When a character is using a double weapon as an implement, should he use his primary head to make an implement attack? I have been thinking that he can choose to use either the primary head or the secondary head, both in case of implement attack and weapon attack.

On the other hand, Staff Fighting allows you to Dual Implement...

Unfortunately, Invoker is a divine class. Thus can't be benefited from Dual Implement Spellcaster feat.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top