Artoomis
First Post
...This is incorrect. Nowhere in the rules that I have in my PHB, or that you have quoted from your PHB or the Compendium, actually indicate that scoring a critical hit allows you to apply the damage. ...-Dan'L
Indeed I have. I shall do it again, just follow the bold text below:
Natural 20: If you roll a 20 on the die when making an attack roll, you score a critical hit if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense. If your attack roll is too low to score a critical hit, you still hit automatically.
Precision: Some class features and powers allow you to score a critical hit when you roll numbers other than 20 (only a natural 20 is an automatic hit).
Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack. This is your critical damage. (Attacks that don’t deal damage still don’t deal damage on a critical hit.)
Extra Damage: Magic weapons and implements, as well as high crit weapons, can increase the damage you deal when you score a critical hit. If this extra damage is a die roll, it’s not automatically maximum damage; you add the result of the roll.
Note that "scoring a critical hit" is a two step process.
Step 1: Roll an attack die and have it be high enough to possibly score a critical hit.
Step 2: Check to see if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense.
If both Step 1 and Step 2 are true, then you score a critical hit.
Step 3: Apply critical damage.
Step 3 happens if, and only if, you "score a critical hit." Also, Step 3 happens every time you "score a critical hit" (well, excluding interrupts and the like).
Holy Ardor creates a new situation that, as written, lets you "score a critical hit" based upon an entirely new new mechanic, rolling doubles, vs. the general rule based upon rolling an attack die.
Also, note that before step 2 you have not "scored a critical hit."
All that said, so far CustServ disagrees with me. Once it gets fully vetted and posted into the FAQs or rule updates, then, at that point, they (WotC) will have issued a formal clarification (or whatever you want to call it).
CustServ said:I can understand your confusion with this one. Let's say you roll a pair of 2's. Assuming your total of your attack bonus +2 does not hit, you would not crit the target. Your total still has to hit and then the hit turns to a crit, but it does not make a guaranteed hit; only a natural 20 does that.
I will happily pass this along for you and hopefully we can see an update to the FAQ in the future.
I have suggested the following update for WotC, assuming the intent is NOT to create a new crit rule:
Modified Holy Ardor said:Holy Ardor (11th level): Whenever you make two attack rolls because of your oath of enmity, you can score a critical hit if both dice have the same roll, except if both rolls are 1. The rolls must still be high enough to hit for one to score a critical hit in this manner.
The language may not be perfect, but there can be no doubt about how to use this rule this way.