Adent Champion. Rules lawyers required

Well,

the OP asked for rule lawyers, and he certaily got them! :lol: this must be some kind of world record right here.


****** Silly momment on ***********

We have a joke over here, something like this: "what are 2000 lawyers in the botton of the ocean?"

"Its a good start".:D

******* Silly momment off ****************
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well,

the OP asked for rule lawyers, and he certaily got them! :lol: this must be some kind of world record right here.


****** Silly momment on ***********

We have a joke over here, something like this: "what are 2000 lawyers in the botton of the ocean?"

"Its a good start".:D

******* Silly momment off ****************

hmmm alternate answer "one very small us state having a flood."
 

If:

3. Roll an attack roll (p 273)
4. Compare attack roll to defense (p 274)
5. Apply damage.

Then yes, exactly right. Holy Ardor redefines this (for holy Ardor only, of course), at least the way it is written.

What is meant ()RAI), well, I am not sure. What is written is as clear as it can be:

Get doubles that are not ones = score a critical hit. This is most certainly departure from the normal rules order of 3-4-5 but that's the way it was written.

We could argue about how the baseline rules require you to check the attack roll against the defense before you can hit until the cows come home, it won't change the fact that the Holy Ardor rule, as written in plain words, simply skips right over that.

The way to read the rules is simplicity itself:

Base rules: Critical = Roll at least a certain number (normally 20, but could be less) plus that roll must be at least equal to the target's defense score.

Holy Ardor rule: Critical = Roll doubles that are not also ones.

Well I'm done. The only answer I've seen is it overrides every rule that says "no" it doesn't work that way and it does so without even saying it does which is so totally broken in an exception based game it's laughable. If you can't be intellectually honest then don't bother. I could say that 2+2 = 4 and you'd still say it's wrong.

Where does Holy Ardor say it:
1. Changes the order of attack resolution?
2. overrides the hit rules?
3. overrides precision?

If you want a specific rule to replace a general rule then it MUST give details. If it fails at this test then it's not a specific rule that overrides a general rule. It is really that simple. Even your base assumption isn't explicit, it's implied. You ASSUME that a critical MUST be a hit, but no where in the rules does it say that. You say that "according to the definition...", but a definition means nothing when you are talking about a game with rules and procedures that MUST be followed in a specific order to determine an outcome. You can't start with the outcome and then override the procedure where ever it doesn't agree with the outcome. That's just nonsense. You follow the procedure and it TELLS you what the outcome is. Every ability in the game fits into the procedure at some point. You can't suddenly just decide...you know what...I'm going to skip these other steps and go straight to this specific ability because it says what I want.

To use your phrasing, Holy Ardor really says "you MIGHT score a critical..." because there are other rules in the attack resolution that might just say you missed and therefore didn't get that critical. But the "MIGHT" isn't necessary for any of the denial rules to apply. Holy Ardor doesn't grant them permission to work, they just work unless Holy Ardor says they don't work which it doesn't do.
 

HOLY CRAP! We are putting PAGES on this thread every day. It's hard to keep up without checking multiple times per day, even for me who enjoys this kind of debate.

A couple responses caught my eye...

Or alternatively some reasoning why you think doubles IS different enough (without granting itself a specific exemption) to warrant being immune to Precision.

I'd be willing to hear from you N8Ball on this too. I am genuine in my interest about what you think makes doubles so special that Precision does not apply (considering that OoE - the ability that allows you to roll the two dice - gives a method to resolve the two rolls into a single roll which could then qualify for Precision).

Edit: Keeping in mind that my position is that this is all resolved by following the ordered rules for making an attack on p269 and that permissive language just simply doesn't matter ("can" - Dagger Master IMO could be worded "you score a critical" and would be no different than it is now, or if it was worded this way would you argue that Precision doesn't apply to it either based on the lack of the permissive?). I'm more interested in how you think Precision would need to be reworded, but if you prefer to do the other what I'd like to know is why doubles is so different than rolling say 18-19 for Dagger Master when both grant you a critical.

I differ from Artoomis slightly on the view of the rolling of the doubles. I think he has an argument there, but in my opinion it is not a critical piece of the battle and the result of that battle would not win or lose this war.

Before I go into how precision applies to Holy Ardor I need to point out a significant difference in how we're reading the critical hit rules. Covert, you pointed out that Artoomis was taking statements out of context in one of his posts:

If you roll a 20 on the die when making an attack roll, you score a critical hit if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense.

Whenever you make two attack rolls because of your oath of enmity, you score a critical hit if both dice have the same roll, except if both rolls are 1.
You are completely ignoring the context of these two rules. One absolutely must be definitive in that it is inside the body of the actual critical hit rules. The other is a power granting a critical hit that must still meet any requirements that were not overridden in the power granting the critical.

The interpretation that you suggests has its own problems. If we read the way you suggest, the term "score a critical hit" has a completely different meaning in the two cases.

In the case of the PHB "score a critical hit" means you proceed with applying damage and extra effects without any further checking.

In the Holy Ardor case, you're suggesting that "score a critical hit" means that you must still meet other requirements (hitting) before applying damage.

"score a critical hit" should mean one thing and it should not change with context. Any other way invites too much fuzzy speculation as to what any given term means in this or that context.

It is worth pointing out that the hit rules (ph 276) do not grant critical hits, nor do they deny them. The hit rules simply point to the crit rules when you roll a 20 as situation that "might be a critical hit". It's also important to note that the rules do not say that you have "scored a critical hit" with a 20 only that you might. This prescedent is followed in how we view the mastery feats and other crit enhancing powers with permissive language.

Covert, with your order of operations analysis you must conceed that the automatic hit rules must be observed some time prior to checking the attack score (and then possibly declaring a miss). So that when "automatic hit" is satisfied, the option of missing is no longer present and that part of the order is skipped. All that is left is to check for a critical hit or not.

The regular critical hit rules require 2 things, one of which is an attack roll that surpasses the defense, but this is not a check to hit, per-se, since the hit has already been check for. It's a duplicate requirement for sure, but it's written out in full detail twice in completely different areas (276 and 278), so I think it's proper that we consider them as seperate requirements for seperate rules.

Along comes Holy Ardor. Its only requirements are the numbers on the attack die, much like "Automatic hit". If you check the dice at the same time that you would check for 20s then just like "automatic hit" you'd skip steps in the normal order of operations and go to the place where it sends you. "Automatic hit" sends you to the point AFTER hits are declared, and Holy Ardor sends you to the point AFTER crits are declared. That's a big jump and I think there should be amplifying text to reinforce such a big move, but I think that's where the rule points.

I think one of my objections is that people are using Precision to deny critical hits when I believe it's purpose is to deny hits to people who thought that their mastery feat let them auto-hit on a 19. After all, Precision comes RIGHT AFTER a sentence that says, "If your attack roll is too low to score a critical hit, you still hit automatically." Within that context (having rolled a crittable number), that statement is absolutely true until you introduce mastery and other crit enhancing abilities, at which time the possible crit range and auto-hit range diverge, thus requiring the clarifying statement in Precision.

I view Precision as a reminder of the subtle differences between a possible crit range (one part of the normal crit rules) and the automatic hit range.

As stated elsewhere, I think that crit enhancing powers that use permissive language do so because they only change part of the normal crit requirements (the crittable numbers) and not the normal hit requirement.

I don't think that Holy Ardor Grants automatic hits. I think it grants critical hits and in doing so jumps well past what the automatic hit rule does. I think when those crits are granted that several parts of the normal attack procedure are necessarily skipped. One of those parts is achieving the hit, and the other is achieving the crit.

I understand that the modifier "automatic" has been used in many places to amplify powers granting hits that were not required to beat the targeted defense. In most cases regarding attack rolls it can be replaced with the phrase "regardless of the attack score".

That prescedent is amplifying and helpful and would have helped here as well, but in almost all instances of that word, it's presence does not really change anything about the rule or power but just clarifies. In the same sense I think it should have been used to amplify (clarify) this power, but much like the other powers that use the word I think that the mechanics are the same even in its absence.

Whew! That was a long one. OK guys, I want at least 4 pages of rebuttals from this.

Just kidding. There will be plenty of time next week to continue the sparring, so I'm goin to try to relax this weekend, and I hope you guys have a great weekend too.
 
Last edited:

Excellent post N8Ball. Well considered.
First I want to correct a couple of typos from the book:
3. Make an attack roll (p274 - the book says p273)
4. Compare your attack roll... (p276 - the book says p274)

HOLY CRAP! We are putting PAGES on this thread every day. It's hard to keep up without checking multiple times per day, even for me who enjoys this kind of debate.

A couple responses caught my eye...



I differ from Artoomis slightly on the view of the rolling of the doubles. I think he has an argument there, but in my opinion it is not a critical piece of the battle and the result of that battle would not win or lose this war.

Before I go into how precision applies to Holy Ardor I need to point out a significant difference in how we're reading the critical hit rules. Covert, you pointed out that Artoomis was taking statements out of context in one of his posts:



The interpretation that you suggests has its own problems. If we read the way you suggest, the term "score a critical hit" has a completely different meaning in the two cases.

In the case of the PHB "score a critical hit" means you proceed with applying damage and extra effects without any further checking.

In the Holy Ardor case, you're suggesting that "score a critical hit" means that you must still meet other requirements (hitting) before applying damage.

"score a critical hit" should mean one thing and it should not change with context. Any other way invites too much fuzzy speculation as to what any given term means in this or that context.

It is worth pointing out that the hit rules (ph 276) do not grant critical hits, nor do they deny them. The hit rules simply point to the crit rules when you roll a 20 as situation that "might be a critical hit". It's also important to note that the rules do not say that you have "scored a critical hit" with a 20 only that you might. This prescedent is followed in how we view the mastery feats and other crit enhancing powers with permissive language.
Well said. I think I have to agree with the "one meaning" you have laid out. Having spent quite a bit of time reviewing p269-278 I think the only consistent meaning that makes sense is "you have met the requirements for dealing critical hit damage". I pick that term because it is the header for the block of rules text.

Covert, with your order of operations analysis you must conceed that the automatic hit rules must be observed some time prior to checking the attack score (and then possibly declaring a miss). So that when "automatic hit" is satisfied, the option of missing is no longer present and that part of the order is skipped. All that is left is to check for a critical hit or not.
The automatic hit would be checked in step 4 (compare attack roll). My view of "Automatic Hit" is that it is an override to the more "general" "miss" rule.

Also of note is that the entry for "Critical Hit" listed under the "Hit" rules is only there to establish the default case of natural 20 being a possible crit, but does not actually give you anything (I'll get to this later), nor does it prove crit = hit.
The regular critical hit rules require 2 things, one of which is an attack roll that surpasses the defense, but this is not a check to hit, per-se, since the hit has already been check for. It's a duplicate requirement for sure, but it's written out in full detail twice in completely different areas (276 and 278), so I think it's proper that we consider them as seperate requirements for seperate rules.
I think this just compliments what is stated in the "Hit" rules for the default case. It also prevents a possible conflict between the "Hit" rules and the "Critical Hit" rules in that they both mention the same default case of natural 20. The only difference I see here is that it is telling you ("if you got a 20...and you hit...then you score a crit") if you meet these requirements you qualify for "Critical Hit Damage".
Along comes Holy Ardor. Its only requirements are the numbers on the attack die, much like "Automatic hit". If you check the dice at the same time that you would check for 20s then just like "automatic hit" you'd skip steps in the normal order of operations and go to the place where it sends you. "Automatic hit" sends you to the point AFTER hits are declared, and Holy Ardor sends you to the point AFTER crits are declared. That's a big jump and I think there should be amplifying text to reinforce such a big move, but I think that's where the rule points.
I don't think any rules at all allow you to skip steps in the order of operations including Holy Ardor. Other rules provide alternate rules within one specific step or another, but nothing allows you to jump around. I would need some serious specific rules override within a given power to believe this was the case. Would you try to skip "Make an attack roll" and go straight to damage without rolling any dice?
I think one of my objections is that people are using Precision to deny critical hits when I believe it's purpose is to deny hits to people who thought that their mastery feat let them auto-hit on a 19. After all, Precision comes RIGHT AFTER a sentence that says, "If your attack roll is too low to score a critical hit, you still hit automatically." Within that context (having rolled a crittable number), that statement is absolutely true until you introduce mastery and other crit enhancing abilities, at which time the possible crit range and auto-hit range diverge, thus requiring the clarifying statement in Precision.

I view Precision as a reminder of the subtle differences between a possible crit range (one part of the normal crit rules) and the automatic hit range.
Based on my reading I have to believe that Precision prevents every critical hit granting ability from having to override the critical hit rules by providing a case for them. Without Precision, abilities that grant a critical in any other way could be argued to not work without it or be said to replace the normal critical hit rules. By providing a case for these powers this is avoided. It does also note that just because you got a critical granted by some other power (Holy Ardor included) that said attack is not an automatic "Hit". This specifically says (or implies strongly) that you cannot skip steps from p269.
As stated elsewhere, I think that crit enhancing powers that use permissive language do so because they only change part of the normal crit requirements (the crittable numbers) and not the normal hit requirement.

I don't think that Holy Ardor Grants automatic hits. I think it grants critical hits and in doing so jumps well past what the automatic hit rule does. I think when those crits are granted that several parts of the normal attack procedure are necessarily skipped. One of those parts is achieving the hit, and the other is achieving the crit.

I understand that the modifier "automatic" has been used in many places to amplify powers granting hits that were not required to beat the targeted defense. In most cases regarding attack rolls it can be replaced with the phrase "regardless of the attack score".

That prescedent is amplifying and helpful and would have helped here as well, but in almost all instances of that word, it's presence does not really change anything about the rule or power but just clarifies. In the same sense I think it should have been used to amplify (clarify) this power, but much like the other powers that use the word I think that the mechanics are the same even in its absence.

Whew! That was a long one. OK guys, I want at least 4 pages of rebuttals from this.

Just kidding. There will be plenty of time next week to continue the sparring, so I'm goin to try to relax this weekend, and I hope you guys have a great weekend too.

Ok...I need to clarify/modify a little of my previous post about order of operations.

(using my modified page numbers)
3. Make attack roll (p274)
4. Compare attack roll to defenses (p276)
5. Apply damage and other effects (p276)

All the rules in the book that come after the list on p269 are grouped according to the list and appear in order. So what does this mean?

Make an attack roll has about a column and a half of rules text on p274 ending where the heading says "Defenses".

Compare attack roll to defenses takes up about 2 pages starting at the heading of "Defenses" and ending on p276 with the heading of "Damage" (the last section is the block on "Attack Results" ie hit or miss).

Apply damage starts at p276 under "Damage" and ends at "Durations" on p278.

This was clearly done on purpose. It makes the "Critical Hit" rules part of the "Apply Damage" step. This makes sense as that's what a critical hit does is modify how you determine damage so in this sense it is a more specific override to the general damage rules at the beginning of the section on p276.

So my final resulting example would look like this:

3. Make attack roll (using OoE you can roll 2 dice and pick one).
4. Compare to defenses. Two pages of rules here that explain defenses and stuff and the final block where you either hit or miss with natural 20 overriding the miss rules and a note about the default possible critical hit on natural 20.
5. Apply damage and other effects. (I admit this now has a gaping hole in it, but it was there to begin and I'll get to that in a sec) Two cases are listed for critical hit. Natural 20 and Precision (some class features and powers allow you to score a critical hit when you roll numbers other than 20 - grammar sniping to the side the plural "numbers" is inclusive of one or more die rolls because it makes no distinction between the result of a single die or multiple dice...that is a position invented by the other side that isn't true) with the reminder that even if a power grants you a critical hit on some result other than natural 20 it is not an automatic hit (and therefore can miss). At this point we can safely apply Holy Ardor and maximize our damage.

Now...about that gaping hole I mentioned above. It seems that there is a corner case where if you are using any power that does damage on a "Miss" that if you qualified for a critical hit you would first maximize the damage and add any extras before cutting the damage in half. I see nothing in the rules to prevent this reading and frankly it sounds kinda fun. So the next time your Dagger Master misses on 18-19 using a daily power be sure to maximize your damage before cutting it in half. Same for Holy Ardor if you roll doubles and miss.
 

Niift is correct. Although rolling two '8's in this situation is not an automatic hit, it is still an automatic critical hit, even if an 8 would not hit. The rules say that you only score an automatic hit on a roll of a 20, but the power says that you score a critical hit on a roll of (lets say) an 8, so specific beats general.
Even if you do not believe that there is a difference between 'you can score a critical hit' and 'you score a critical hit' (and there is a difference), the power still specifies that you hit in a certain situation, so the rules are ignored since specific beats general.
 

Even if you do not believe that there is a difference between 'you can score a critical hit' and 'you score a critical hit' (and there is a difference), the power still specifies that you hit in a certain situation, so the rules are ignored since specific beats general.

The counter-argument is that this is NOT a specific vs. general situation, because the general rule clarifies what happens IN this situation. This is because the section of critical hit that points out that only a 20 is an automatic hit works WITH this rule to ensure you know that holy ardor doesn't automatically hit.
 

The counter-argument is that this is NOT a specific vs. general situation, because the general rule clarifies what happens IN this situation. This is because the section of critical hit that points out that only a 20 is an automatic hit works WITH this rule to ensure you know that holy ardor doesn't automatically hit.

And more accurately, yes, critical hit altering mechanics -are- exceptions to when you can roll a critical, but they are not an exception to Precision which is the rule that specificly governs these exceptions.
 

Niift is correct. Although rolling two '8's in this situation is not an automatic hit, it is still an automatic critical hit, even if an 8 would not hit. The rules say that you only score an automatic hit on a roll of a 20, but the power says that you score a critical hit on a roll of (lets say) an 8, so specific beats general.
Even if you do not believe that there is a difference between 'you can score a critical hit' and 'you score a critical hit' (and there is a difference), the power still specifies that you hit in a certain situation, so the rules are ignored since specific beats general.

I never claimed that you don't get a critical hit. What you don't get is a "Hit". You also don't get to ignore the rules as written without an exception.
1. Show us where Holy Ardor overrides the "Making an Attack" sequence.
2. Show us where it says you get to skip comparing your attack roll against the targets defenses to see if you hit or missed?
3. Show us where it says a "Critical Hit" (p278) gives you a "Hit".

I have asked many times for any of these things to be proven with actual rules quotes and page references, but all I keep getting is "...but that's not what it says...". If you think the phrase "score a critical hit" (forget for a moment the the whole "can" debate) overrides as many general rules as it needs to in order for your position to be correct you are sadly mistaken. Are you seriously suggesting that one little phrase overrides like almost the entire general rules on how to resolve an attack (mainly due to the absence of the word "can")????????? That is just beyond silly.
 

I never claimed that you don't get a critical hit. What you don't get is a "Hit". You also don't get to ignore the rules as written without an exception.
1. Show us where Holy Ardor overrides the "Making an Attack" sequence.
2. Show us where it says you get to skip comparing your attack roll against the targets defenses to see if you hit or missed?
3. Show us where it says a "Critical Hit" (p278) gives you a "Hit".
...

Number (3) is the crucial one, for if it truly is a hit, then (1) and (2) simply don't matter as the rule just overrode the rest of the hit rules. If a rule creates a new exception that says you hit, well, then, you hit.

So, if you "score a critical hit" have you hit? Well, let's see:

Page 276 Makes that clear:

Attack Results:
Hit....
...Automatic Hit
...Critical Hit
Miss...
...Automatic Miss

From this we see that the following are the only possible results for an attack:

1. Hit.
2. An automatic hit.
3. A critical hit
4. Miss
5. Automatic Miss

1, 2 and 3 all are hits.

Further, page 276 also say "A critical hit deals maximum damage..."

Saying that one can "score a critical hit" and yet not hit and do damage is beyond silly.
 

Remove ads

Top