Online Compendium said:Heavy Blade Opportunity: When you make an opportunity attack with a heavy blade, you can use an at-will attack that has the weapon keyword instead of a basic attack.
Agile Opportunist: When you are pulled, pushed, or slid into a square adjacent to an enemy, you can use an opportunity action to make a melee basic attack against that enemy.
When a nonadjacent enemy enters a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack with a polearm against that enemy, but you grant combat advantage to that enemy until the end of the enemy’s turn.
Also, remember that agile opportunist may or may not be used when you are forced to move by an ally. Rules for opportunity actions say that they are in response to *enemy actions*, so the feat might not trigger when you are pushed next to an enemy by your wizard or warlord.
The official rule might already be clarified for this, but when I was looking for it some time ago, there was none.
No, you're confusing Opportunity Attacks and Opportunity Actions. Opportunity Attacks are provoked by an enemy walking/running out of an adjacent square or by making a ranged attack (among other triggers), but they are only a subset of Opportunity Actions. The relevant rule explicitly cites Opportunity Actions, which includes but is not limited to Opportunity Attacks.Untrue. The normal rules for opportunity actions are if an enemy leaves an adjacent space (not shifting) or making a ranged attack while adjacent. Any power that grants you opportunity actions (attacks or otherwise) disregard that requirement
Agile opportunist says "pulled, pushed, or slid" it does not matter if this was the result of an enemy's action, or an ally's.
PHB said:Opportunity Actions: You can take one opportunity action on each other combatant's turn. An opportunity action must be triggered by an enemy's action.
That are not all of the OA rules. One often overlooked rule is not under the opportunity actions entry on PHB 1 page 268 but under the actions on other turns entry on PHB 1 page 269 and it states "An opportunity action must be triggered by an enemy’s action"Untrue. The normal rules for opportunity actions are if an enemy leaves an adjacent space (not shifting) or making a ranged attack while adjacent. Any power that grants you opportunity actions (attacks or otherwise) disregard that requirement
Agile opportunist says "pulled, pushed, or slid" it does not matter if this was the result of an enemy's action, or an ally's.
Fair enough. Still, those triggers only apply to a specific type of opportunity action (i.e. an opportunity attack), and clearly don't apply to the opportunity action created by Agile Opportunist. You may not have had them confused, but your language use created the potential for confusion (I do see what you were saying, I just think you could have been a bit more precise with your language).I wasn't confusing them. The rules state that the only type of opportunity action you can generally take is an opportunity attack, which has the triggers I quoted.
Like I said, it's certainly debatable whether that quote is intended as rules text. On the one hand, it's in the PHB, as part of the rules. On the other hand, it's in the section of the rules about taking your turn, and it's not in the section of the rules about specific action types. It's also not in the Compendium (the whole section on Taking Your Turn seems to be absent). And that's about the substance of the debate.I see where you're getting this from, and I see your point. However, the part about having to be triggered by enemy actions doesn't appear in the section defining opportunity actions. Which I'm sure where the debate over the clause you quote stems from. When I referenced the rules, I didn't even look at the "Actions on other turns" paragraph, because Opportunity Actions has it's own section elsewhere. If it were required that opportunity actions be triggered only by enemy actions, it should be stated in the rules governing opportunity actions, which it is not.