Aliies in area blast and burst attks??

warduke72

First Post
With 4th Ed., are your party members subject to damage from your allies burst and blast attacks? I know the card usually says "enimies" or "creatures" or "allies"...but our DM says we are considered "creatures"...whats the general consensus out there? The books dont really specify (but i think its clear allies dont take damage) so its hard to argue with people when they read stuff a different way...:p
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

With 4th Ed., are your party members subject to damage from your allies burst and blast attacks? I know the card usually says "enimies" or "creatures" or "allies"...but our wacky DM says we are considered "creatures"...whats the general consensus out there? The books dont really specify (but i think its clear allies dont take damage) so its hard to argue with people when they read stuff a different way...:p
Actually, the books ARE very specific, and your DM isn't "wacky"-- he's 100% correct.

Check the "Choosing Targets" heading of the "Understanding Powers" section of any Essentials rulebook (or the similar part of PHB1). Everything in the game that has stats is a creature-- monsters, player characters, NPCs, wallabies... everything. So if a blast targets "each creature", it will affect every statted being in the area.
 

With 4th Ed., are your party members subject to damage from your allies burst and blast attacks? I know the card usually says "enimies" or "creatures" or "allies"...but our wacky DM says we are considered "creatures"...whats the general consensus out there? The books dont really specify (but i think its clear allies dont take damage) so its hard to argue with people when they read stuff a different way...:p

Uh, you are indeed creatures.

"Creatures" includes both allies and enemies.

Different powers work in different ways. Something like a fireball will target each creature in the blast, ally or enemy; fire doesn't discriminate.

On the other hand a blast that deals psychic damage will probably only target enemies, because your mind can pick and choose.

Powers that target only allies are usually some kind of buff.

But yeah, your DM is correct.
 

Dang it! I hate being wrong!:rant: If they use the terms "allies" and "enemies" for other targeted stuff, then why dont they just say "affects enimies AND allies" ???? I hate Bill Slavicek!!! Im goin back to 2nd Ed.:mad:...well maybe not... GRRRRR
 

Dang it! I hate being wrong!:rant: If they use the terms "allies" and "enemies" for other targeted stuff, then why dont they just say "affects enimies AND allies" ???? I hate Bill Slavicek!!! Im goin back to 2nd Ed.:mad:...well maybe not... GRRRRR

:lol: Well, good gaming to you anyway... ;)
 

Dang it! I hate being wrong!:rant: If they use the terms "allies" and "enemies" for other targeted stuff, then why dont they just say "affects enimies AND allies" ???? I hate Bill Slavicek!!! Im goin back to 2nd Ed.:mad:...well maybe not... GRRRRR
They don't say "affects enemies and allies" because both enemies AND allies can be described as "creatures." It's a simpler way to say "it hits everything in the affected area."

But don't stop there, the Creatures category includes animal companions, familiars, constructs summoned by Figurines of Wondrous Power, allies, monsters, and a whole host of other "things."

"Creatures" is a catch-all.
 

Dang it! I hate being wrong!:rant: If they use the terms "allies" and "enemies" for other targeted stuff, then why dont they just say "affects enimies AND allies" ???? I hate Bill Slavicek!!! Im goin back to 2nd Ed.:mad:...well maybe not... GRRRRR

If they used "Targets enemies and allies", it would still leave out yourself. You are neither an enemy nor an ally. So they'd have to use the phrase "Targets enemies, allies and yourself". Clearly creatures is significantly more succinct.
 

If they used "Targets enemies and allies", it would still leave out yourself. You are neither an enemy nor an ally. So they'd have to use the phrase "Targets enemies, allies and yourself". Clearly creatures is significantly more succinct.

Stupid words, and their stupid meanings.
 

The one I wonder about is this -- is an ally that is inside the square defined by the burst still considered "inside" it if they are excluded from the effect by some special case, such as the Storm Sorcerer's powers that can exclude the center square, or the Wizard epic feat Spell Accuracy?
 

The one I wonder about is this -- is an ally that is inside the square defined by the burst still considered "inside" it if they are excluded from the effect by some special case, such as the Storm Sorcerer's powers that can exclude the center square, or the Wizard epic feat Spell Accuracy?
Aren't you answering your own question? If something excludes the square, then doesn't that mean, well, it's excluded? :confused:
 

Remove ads

Top