All About Sneak Attacks (Part Two)

Skip said:
Immobility is one time when the uncanny dodge ability doesn't foil a sneak attack (see the section on uncanny dodge).

Hyp. said:
Wait, what? Hasn't the Sage always been in the "Feint trumps Uncanny Dodge" camp? His Uncanny Dodge column is the next one... but this line bodes ill. The implication is that he's going to say that Uncanny Dodge allows you to retain Dex bonus while Running, or against a successful feint...

Don't panic yet. He said 'Immobility is one time ...', not 'Immobility is the one time ...'

Tune in next week to find out ...
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hypersmurf said:
Ouch. Don't like this one so much.

On the plus side:



This is good. A lot of people used to quote a Sage reply (not an FAQ entry - must have been an email, chat, or Dragon column) that said that every attack in a Full Attack action was a sneak attack if you began the round invisible. It's nice to see he's fixed that one.

-Hyp.
Aren't you supposed to be flat foot until you act your first initiative? I would assume that this rule apply in the middle of a combat where the rogue suddenly comes out of hidding to SA an already fighting opponents. But I would still rule that if the rogue is hidding waiting for her prey and surprise an unprepared opponent she is still allowed to make a full attack before initiative, then initiative would be rolled and the opponent would be flatfooted until it acts on its initiative.
Otherwise this rule reduce considerably the leathality of a hidden rogue and might affect the concept of the rogue in my group.
 

Immobilized

When you can't move, you can't use your Dexterity bonus (if any) to Armor Class, and you can be sneak attacked even when you're not flanked or caught flat-footed.

The Daze spell just got a lot mo better...
 


Depends on which interpretation takes precedence I guess. Generally you have your "Core rules" and the only thing that can really break them are things that are specifically stated in the feat, spell, skill, special maneuver you are trying to perform. So in this instance, I guess the wording in the spell might take precedence. But then, this is an amendment or clarification to the "core rules", which came after the description of the spell, which may now take precedence. So, got me...
 

I don't see that the Daze spell puts the victim in the "Immobilized" state - at least not from what's in the SRD.
 



Look at the quote again. According to the article, all it says for being Immobilized is that

When you can't move, you can't use your Dexterity bonus (if any) to Armor Class, and you can be sneak attacked even when you're not flanked or caught flat-footed.

So then ask yourself, does Daze allow you to move? Nope...
 

Remove ads

Top