Another Divine Castigation question...

We're at level 5 in our current campaign (seems to be going much faster than our first 4e campaign - maybe we're just more used to it now), and I have a question about my lev5 BattleCleric.

I just picked up Divine Castigation for my Daily. What I want to know is if, since I have a reach weapon, would I have to be adjacent to the target to get the attack? It says, as an opportunity attack, and those require you to be adjacent.

Please look at the wording and tell me what you think. Thanks! :)

Divine Castigation

Your prayer of castigation fuels your attack, leaving your foe at your mercy each time it lashes out against you.
Daily
bullet.gif
Divine, Radiant, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Target: One creature
Attack: Wisdom vs. AC
Hit: 2[W] + Wisdom modifier radiant damage.
Miss: Half damage.
Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever the target attacks you or any of your allies, it provokes an opportunity attack from you.

Published in Heroes of the Fallen Lands, page(s) 92.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever the target attacks you or any of your allies, it provokes an opportunity attack from you.

Seems pretty clear to me, and specific rules beat general. If it says they provoke just by attacking, they provoke just by attacking. Per the RAW here they don't need to be in any particular location such as adjacent to you.

Edit: Of course this might be errated into "adjacent enemy" or "immediate reaction" later. But 'threatening reach' does not seem relevant here; TR means non-adjacent enemies provoke OAs by moving or using ranged attacks while non-adjacent but within your reach.
 
Last edited:

Seems pretty clear to me, and specific rules beat general. If it says they provoke just by attacking, they provoke just by attacking. Per the RAW here they don't need to be in any particular location such as adjacent to you.

If a shaman multiclassed into cleric and took this power... wow. (Although maybe it's not actually legal, but it sounds that way to me.)

(For those who aren't familiar with the shaman, some of its spirits can use the shaman's opportunity attacks at their location, hitting when an opponent next to them makes a ranged or area attack or doesn't shift.)
 

If a shaman multiclassed into cleric and took this power... wow. (Although maybe it's not actually legal, but it sounds that way to me.)

I think the scripting of the power is itself 'illegal' in that it breaks the principle that OAs only arise in two limited ways - ranged attacks & leaving a threatened square. From the description it sounds like it should be an Immediate Reaction or Interrupt, not an OA.
 

I think the scripting of the power is itself 'illegal' in that it breaks the principle that OAs only arise in two limited ways - ranged attacks & leaving a threatened square. From the description it sounds like it should be an Immediate Reaction or Interrupt, not an OA.

Looks like yet another cleric power waitig for the nerf-bat ;) This power offers some really solid defending, in fact it is better than most of the stuff defenders get at such an early level.
 

My own read of it is that it doesn't allow opportunity attacks "at range".

Basically, there are several requirements for taking opportunity attacks by the rules. These are:
1. Something must trigger the OA (moving away or ranged attack)
2. You must be adjacent to the triggering creature
3. You must not be subject to some effect (such as dazed) that removes your ability to make OAs.

All I see this power doing is adding another trigger... there is nothing in the power which removes the "must be adjacent" requirement.
 



Remove ads

Top