Any limits on creatures using equipment?

Belbarrus

First Post
Are there any limits on creatures using equipment? For example, could you put Bracers of Armor (not *special ones, ones right out of the DMG) on a Behir? Can a Gorrilla wear a Helmet of Brilliance? Can a Beholder wear a Belt of Giant Strength?

Why I am asking is because of the polymorphing party. The party Wizard wants to change some of the other characters into other creatures to benefit from the creatures natural abilities. For example, he wants to change the Elven monk into a Gorillon (Large, 4-armed gorilla) for higher physical stats, large size and natural armor.

The question is; can a non-normal humanoid creature wear magic (or even normal) equipment from the DMG, without modification?

Thanks,

Belbarrus
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DMG p. 176
Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. As a rule, size should not keep overweight characters, characters of various genders, or characters of various kinds from using magic items. Players shouldn't be penalized for choosing a halfling character or deciding that their character is especially tall. Only say "it doesn't fit" if there's a good reason.
Basically, the "magic items resize themselves" rule was invented so as not to penalize characters for their choice of race, sex, or appearance.

The polymorphing party is blatantly, grotesquely, abusing the spirit of the rules.
 

Oh Ithought that this was aking something like can you give a zombie a Belt of Giant Strength?

I wnat to know the answer to that.

my guess is yes. as long as it is use activated.
 

I think it may be a house rule more than anything, but as a rule I don't let undead use magic items unless they have a free will of their own (lich, vampire, etc.).

But I don't see any reason why they couldn't though, and with a quick check of some of the rules I couldn't find anything that would limit undead from being juiced up from magic items.
 

Right, but the DMG ruling may only be taking into account "normal" races (hence the Halfling example). What I mean is, can someone Polymorph into a pegasus and wear a belt of Giant Strength or polymorph into a Treant and wear a Robe of Useful items (by donning the item after changing)? Logically, I cant see a reason why you *cant* strap a belt to a horse, or slip a robe or cloak over a treants body or have a Gorgon wear an amulet of Nondetection, but do the game rules say anything about creature "types" not being able to wear certain items magical or not, I guess).
 

someone told me the other day that the latest poly spells had limits on equipment, to cover what types you lost your equipment went with and so forth. It boiled down to humanoid and monstroushumanoid kept equipment and beast, abberation etc lost it.
 

Belbarrus said:
Why I am asking is because of the polymorphing party. The party Wizard wants to change some of the other characters into other creatures to benefit from the creatures natural abilities.

What happens to the equipment when someone is polymorphed? Doesn't it meld with the new form as in Wild Shape?
 

That is true.

However, you could remove your equipment, have the wizard polymorph you, and then don your equipment again. At least, you could don equipment that would fit your new form.
 

Re: Re: Any limits on creatures using equipment?

Li Shenron said:


What happens to the equipment when someone is polymorphed? Doesn't it meld with the new form as in Wild Shape?

An also, once melded (?) does it still work?

I once thought that if you had a ring for example, then got polymorphed/shapechanged/other you still have the ring on you, it's working (at least its passive abilities), but you just can't take it away until you revert to your original form.

Obviously, that would require some care... You couldn't wear another ring on the same hand, as you can't wear 2 rings at the same time.

Arms & armors maybe they don't meld at all, but just resize (the armor) or stay in your hand.

I don't think it's an obvious topic: think about the extremes... polymorphing into a giant or tiny monster, or simply into another PC race, or even another individual to just get diguise benefits. Does it work the same way? I am not sure.

Imagine you are wearing a protective magic ring, a magic armor of Fire Resistance and a Ghost Touch magic sword which gives you also 1/day use of the Freedom of Movement spell, and be polymorphed into a frost worm. I'd be tempted to rule that the ring and armor are melded into the new form, the ring still gives you the protection (e.g. bonus to saves), should the armor give its Fire Resistance? If yes, what about the normal armor bonus?
What happens to the sword? Does it fall to the ground or meld as well? If it melds, you obviously can't attack with it, but can you use the Freedom of Movement? Does it make your bite a ghost touch weapon?

Now think of the same, but be polymorphed from human into another human. Wouldn't you say the equipment just stays where it was?
 

ALL equipment that is melded into you when you polymorph becomes non-functional. This includes any magic items you are wearing or wielding. This assumes, of course, that you are polymorphing into a creature that doesn't normally use equipment.

If I polymorphed a fighter with a +1 great sword into an elf with a longsword, the greatsword tranforms with the fighter, so he turns into an elf with a +1 longsword.

From the SRD:


When the polymorph occurs, the creature’s equipment, if any, transforms to match the new form. If the new form is a creature who does not use equipment, the equipment melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional. Material components and focuses melded in this way cannot be used to cast spells. If the new form uses equipment, the subject’s equipment changes to match the new form and retains its properties.


Thus, if the form you turn into (a bear for example) can't use rings, the rings meld into the new form, and become useless. Their magical properties no longer function.

I believe there is a feat in Masters of the Wild or something that allows a Druid to selectively choose NOT to have items meld into her animal shapes... providing the items can change shape to accomodate the new form.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top