Any way of Quarrying more than 1/round?

The Battlefield Archer's ability is quite unclear as written, but the official FAQ for the Player's Handbook says:

27. Does the Battlefield Archer’s Battlefield Experience paragon path feature allow me to designate more than one creature as my quarry with one action?

No. This path feature allows you to have more than one creature designated as your quarry, but it does not grant you the ability to designate multiple creatures with a single action.

See FAQ for the Player's Handbook!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I... really disagree. Even though I don't feel that was the intended interpretation, it pretty specifically allows you to mark more than one creature at a time. (By that first interpretation). Requiring it to specifically mention Hunter's Quarry or present this change as a unique power is playing fast and loose with the rules to suit your own interpretation, and applying that same logic, and the need for such strict wording, would render dozens of other abilities meaningless.

With the FAQ answer this debate is kinda moot, but I would be interested in an example of one of these "dozens of other abilities" that would be "meaningless" by such a strict interpretation of specific vs. general. I know of this and at least one other ruling where specific was not specific enough to trump the general rule so to me WotC has been pretty consistent about vaguely worded rules not trumping general rules (or perhaps I should say...rules that seem vaguely worded).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top