Are actions interrupted by an AoO abortable?

Because the situation is slightly different. Note that the two have an empty space between them in the FAQ, while they are adjacent here. This makes our situation more complicated.

In their situation...
The Fighter readies.
The Archer prepares to fire (reaching for his Quiver, alerting the Fighter).
The Fighter takes a 5-foot step.
The Fighter attacks.
The Archer could shoot (and take an AoO if he does)...
OR Take a 5-Foot step and THEN shoot (NOT taking an AoO).

In our situation:
The Dwarf readies.
The Orc takes a 5-foot step.
The Orc prepares to shoot (he reaches for his Quiver, and the Dwarf notices).
The Dwarf's action is triggered.
The Dwarf takes a 5-foot step.
The Dwarf attacks.
The Orc continues his shot, although he could abort here, and defend himself instead, to avoid AoO, wasting his action. (if he draws his bow, he gives the Dwarf another opening)
The Dwarf attacks again (AoO).

Note that being closer is much more advantageous!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In their situation (the FAQ's), it is incorrect. From the responses here, the archer cannot alter his action in the middle of it. So, he cannot change from the attack to a 5ft-step first. Just like in our situation. Instead, he should 5ft-step first (which is what I think they intended to imply), before attacking. Thus, the fighter must move up to the archer, getting the AoO only (assuming that you can't ready a charge -- but that's yet another debate).
 


dcollins said:
Hyp, thanks for looking for that. I'm kind of embarassed, either that got changed or I'm remembering it exactly wrong. Geez.

Don't feel bad. It could be that there is another entry in the very same FAQ that contradicts this entry. It wouldn't be the first time.

All Hail the Mighty Confusing FAQ! :D
 

Ah ok, if the FAQ is talking about a 5ft step between multiple shots, then that's ok. I had in my head that the archer had already stepped before starting his attack.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
In their situation (the FAQ's), it is incorrect. From the responses here, the archer cannot alter his action in the middle of it. So, he cannot change from the attack to a 5ft-step first.

Sure he can. Check the PHB. You can take a 5' step before, DURING, or after your attack.

I would like to add support though that the archer can not "abort" his firing action if he suddenly finds himself threatened while firing. It states that you resolve the AoO before the action that triggers it, not that the AoO actually occurs before the trigger.
 

RigaMortus said:
Sure he can. Check the PHB. You can take a 5' step before, DURING, or after your attack.

I would like to add support though that the archer can not "abort" his firing action if he suddenly finds himself threatened while firing. It states that you resolve the AoO before the action that triggers it, not that the AoO actually occurs before the trigger.
No, he can't. Reread what I said. I said he can't alter his action to suddenly take the 5ft-step first. So, when the fighter steps up and attacks, the archer is still in his attack action. Not only does the fighter get his readied attack, but the archer provokes an attack as well. The archer cannot preempt the fighter's readied action.
 

Remove ads

Top