Are We Doing Surprise Right

AgonizedPuddle6 asked this question at another forum:

Hi guys, yet another newb question but I've hearing online that if a PC makes a successful stealth roll against a number of enemies than the DM could intiate a surprise round. I have no idea what this is and what a surprise round entails, if someone could tell me in very simple English exactly what happens in a surprise round and what it means, it would be of great help. I'm still pretty new to the game and am only using the red box so any suggestions will be of help.

Apparently it's not a popular topic.

Here was my response:

It's not well-explained, and unfortunately I'm mixing up 3.x and 4e rules, I'm sure. Here's how I think it works.

Perception is the more important skill here (or Spot or Listen, depending on which version of D&D you're talking about).

I'm going to describe two simple "parties" here. One are the PCs, and consist of Fighter, Rogue, Wizard and Cleric. Rogue has Perception and Stealth as class skills, no one else does. The other party consists of Bandits (Perception and Stealth) and Outlaws (neither).

Rogue is scouting, and deliberately trying to be stealthy, so he gets to make a Stealth check. None of the other PCs get to make Stealth checks. (In order to make Stealth, you need cover and concealment, and they're walking on the road.) The bad guys are crouching behind some tree stumps on a slope beside the road and so Bandits and Outlaws both get Stealth. (Because Outlaws aren't trained, their scores are poor.)