Arms and equipment guide questions...

00durrin

First Post
If I had a shield (in this case a buckler) with the "Acidic" enchantment...would that provide the benefit of 2d4 damage per round in a grapple? Or would it have to be armor?

Now that I think of it, if you had a heavily reinforced buckler (the enchantment that negates 100% of sneak attacks and crits) would you have to be gaining the buckler's AC bonus to get the effect of the enchantment? i.e., If you were caught holding something in each hand, could you still be sneak attacked or critted on? What about attacks that ignore armor (touch attacks) could they still crit/sneak attack?

Another. Does ALL damage a harpoon does going "in" occur again coming out? For example, does a +3 harpoon that does 1d10+3 (magic) +7(str) with a roll of 10 do 20 damage going in and 20 coming out? If that's the case, what if it sinks in on a sneak attack? Do you get the damage from that coming out?
What about a flaming harpoon? Do you get the extra 1d6 flame damage on the way out? It's part of the initial damage, after all

Finally, the big question...what happens if you put the "returning" enchantment on a harpoon? Does it "pull out" on its own and do damage, returning the next round as normal? Would you have to succeed at an opposed strength check to pull it out if you wanted it to return? Can you pull a harpoon out of someone else yourself if they're still actively moving around (i.e. not "helpless" or dead).
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Re: AaEG questions...

00durrin said:
If I had a shield (in this case a buckler) with the "Acidic" enchantment...would that provide the benefit of 2d4 damage per round in a grapple?

I would assume so. If it didn't, it would be cheaper than +4 if placed on a shield.

00durrin said:
Or would it have to be armor?

I suppose it wouldn't be a big deal if someone ruled that an acidic shield doesn't deal acid damage in a grapple but it does when used to attack with. But, I don't think it has to be on armor, so I think it works on a shield as well. Besides, I'm sure its kinda difficult to grapple someone and not touch their shield.

00durrin said:
Now that I think of it, if you had a heavily reinforced buckler (the enchantment that negates 100% of sneak attacks and crits) would you have to be gaining the buckler's AC bonus to get the effect of the enchantment?

Makes sense. Armor of fortification doesn't help you if you're not wearing it, thus a shield won't help you if it isn't equipped.

00durrin said:
What about attacks that ignore armor (touch attacks) could they still crit/sneak attack?

I'd have to say no. They're attacking you, and your armor is protecting you with magical force. They can negate the armor, but I don't think they can negate the magical effect.

For example, if you are wearing armor of fire resistance, it doesn't matter if I pop you with a fire spell that uses a touch attack and a ray. Even though a touch attack ignores armor, the spell can't ignore the fire resistance bestowed upon you by the armor.

00durrin said:
Finally, the big question...what happens if you put the "returning" enchantment on a harpoon? Does it "pull out" on its own and do damage, returning the next round as normal?

Oh my god, that's cruel. :D
 

Re: Re: AaEG questions...

kreynolds said:








Oh my god, that's cruel. :D

So is that your answer? Returning Harpoon auto pulls out or opposed str check pulls out?

Another thing I thought of...a harpoon of wounding. Does it cause another wound on the way out?

Speaking of wounds. Gladiator caused wounds and weapon of wounding wounds. They stack of course. One expires on its own (gladiator) and the other does not.
Does a successful heal check stop ALL the wounds? I would assume a healing spell would end them all, but how do you perform a heal check on say, 10 bleeding wounds in one round?
 

hypersmurf? crothian? you guys don't have anything to say on any of my questions? i asked so many and you guys normally jump right in there and slam 'em out of the park...
 


yes but you can still answer questions regarding a returning harpoon and how wounds from weapons of wounding and gladiators are healed
 

I would say a Returning harpoon that misses or fails to lodge will Return, while if it lodges, it won't. I would say you can't remove a lodged harpoon except under the conditions you can perform a coup de gras, given that it's a full-round action for the victim to remove it.

A wounding harpoon would deal a Wound going in and coming out.

All bleeding Wounds are stopped with a single DC15 Heal check.

Bonus damage on a harpoon... my inclination as a DM would be to treat it like a critical - constant modifiers repeat, bonus dice don't. But I can't back that up.

I agree with kreynolds about the Fortified Buckler.

-Hyp.
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top