Arwend Setting Magic Items -- Part 1

Wolv0rine

First Post
Mana Pools
Magic items that produce spell or spell-like effects require a Mana Pool. A magic item that has a Mana Pool has a set amount of Mana that it can store and access, determined at its creation.
This pool empowers the item’s spells or spell-like abilities until it is depleted. Once depleted the item becomes inert, but any character capable of manipulating Mana may re-charge the item’s pool.

Because different types of casters capable of manipulating Mana do so in different ways, the process of re-charging an item’s Mana Pool is different for each.
In either case the process of re-charging a magic item requires a ritual that takes 1 hour + 10 minutes for every Mana point transferred to the item. Mana sacrificed in such a manner returns at the normal rate.

Wizards & Bards
Wizards and Bards manipulate Mana directly using their own Mana Pool. A Wizard or bard may re-charge a magic item with a pool by sacrificing their own Mana to re-charge the item at a cost of 1:1.

Sorcerers
Sorcerers manipulate Mana on a visceral level, and thus lack a Mana pool to sacrifice from directly. To re-charge an item, a Sorcerer must make a casting check (DC 5 + (item’s maximum Mana capacity). If the Sorcerer hits the DC, the item is re-charged to half capacity. For every point over the target DC the check succeeds by, the item receives an additional point of Mana.

Staves
Note: This also is un-playtested, and certainly suffers from problems in the areas of DC targets if not other areas.
Whatever it’s form; walking staff, iron shod quarterstaff, cane, a magic staff’s primary purpose is Mana Battery.
Magic staves provide an outside source of Mana the wielder can tap and use in place of his own, while also serving as a useful item (usually melee weapon). A staff’s Mana Pool is determined at its creation, being equal to the Mana Pool of it’s creator at the time of its creation. If a staff is found and its creator is unknown, the default Mana capacity is 20 (or an 8th level creator).

A staff can also hold spells that are imprinted onto the staff’s magical pattern. Spells imprinted on a staff may be cast by it’s wielder at any time regardless of whether the character knows the spells himself, or has them memorized. The wielder can cast such spells using either his own power or the staff’s Mana Pool. If the wielder
These spells will remain imprinted on the staff regardless of how many times they are cast, until such time as they are changed by the staff’s wielder.

A staff can hold a number of spells equal to its creator’s class level. Thus the default the default 8th level creator produces a staff capable of holding 8 spells

Imprinting a spell onto a staff after its creation is a taxing a time consuming task. First the staff’s magical pattern must be carefully studied and understood as the character searches for a place in the pattern where the spell fits in without disrupting the pattern. This study takes 1 day per level of the staff’s creator. At the end of each day, the character must make a Spellcraft check (DC: 15 + creator’s level).
If any of these checks fail, then the character cannot find a place in the magical pattern where the spell fits harmoniously, and cannot continue. If all the checks are successfully made, then the character has found a place for the spell.

After a place for the spell is found, the character must begin the arduous task of weaving the two magical patterns together. This process requires 1 day/spell level of the imprinted spell, and the character must spend 500 XP per level of the spell. The character may imprint only one spell at a time.
Spells can be removed from a staff by performing the same process; save there is no XP cost to remove a spell.

A staff can also have spells imprinted permanently on them. If this is done at the staff’s creation, the creation time is doubled (regardless of the number of spells,) and the spell will cost 1,000 XP per spell level to imprint. If the spell is added after the staff’s creation, the process is much more difficult.

First the character must succeed at the final Spellcraft check following the required study time (see above) by 10 or more. If this is done, the character must spend 1,500 XP per spell level to imprint the spell.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Pyrex said:
So, uh, how much does it cost to craft? :confused:
That falls under the heading of Item Crafting Rules... which is still something that's up in the air as to how I want to do it. :)
I abhor the RAW item crafting rules, Kerrick's crafting rules are good, but there are concepts I'd like to use that his system doesn't have room for easily. So as like as not I'll have to spend the time working up a crafting system I like, then throwing it in here for others such as yourself to pick apart. hehe
 

The how 'bout just a market price for a typical 8th level, 20mp staff with 8 spells in it?

Basically what I want to know is how many of these staves wizards are going to be carrying around so I can reconcile that back in the spellcasters thread.
 

Pyrex said:
The how 'bout just a market price for a typical 8th level, 20mp staff with 8 spells in it?

Basically what I want to know is how many of these staves wizards are going to be carrying around so I can reconcile that back in the spellcasters thread.
Hmm, well like I said having not settled on a crafting system I want to use, I really have no idea on what kind of typical 'market price' range I'm looking at.
But in general, while I don't expect every wizard to carry a staff, I would personally inclined to give the severe hairy-eyeball to any wizard who tried to tote more than one staff.
Or is that not what you mean? I know it's wonky, and if I had a better grasp on the crafting system I'm hoping to eventually come up with (magic, magic items, and crafting rules really strike me as something that should be created with each other in mind, afterall), I'd have a better answer for the question.
 

Yeah, that's basically what I meant.

In the magic system thread you said you weren't too worried about not giving Wizards a lot of mana as you expect them to be carrying around mana-battery staves.

In order to help balance Wizards it's important to know just mana-battery-capacity you expect Wizards to be carrying around.

Between the two threads it looks like you expect the average staff-wielding Wizard to be approximately* doubling his base mana.

*Assuming a Wizard w/ a staff will generally have a staff near his CL (within +/- 3 or so anyway), the staff will generally double his base mana.
 

Pyrex said:
Yeah, that's basically what I meant.

In the magic system thread you said you weren't too worried about not giving Wizards a lot of mana as you expect them to be carrying around mana-battery staves.

In order to help balance Wizards it's important to know just mana-battery-capacity you expect Wizards to be carrying around.

Between the two threads it looks like you expect the average staff-wielding Wizard to be approximately* doubling his base mana.

*Assuming a Wizard w/ a staff will generally have a staff near his CL (within +/- 3 or so anyway), the staff will generally double his base mana.
Wizards who do carry staves, yeah I figure it'd somewhere on the order of doubled. It's a rough guesstimate on my part (that math thing, again), but yeah I figure baseline's about double. Of course, there's the Raistlin effect (low level caster, HUGELY powerful staff from which he can draw mana and spells he doesn't even know. Yay Magius!), and there's the Wizards who go "Eh, we don' need no steenking badges..err..staves". But if you were to get a player who tried to convince you that he's carrying about a quiver of staves... smack that guy. lol
Not that I'm implying a staff is the only magic item that can serve as mana battery, of course. :D
 

Right, but if you're stating that it's reasonable to assume that a Wiz will double his base capacity, rare to triple it, and unheard of to quadruple it (Staff of Magius, et al), that's the data necessary for balance.
 

Pyrex said:
Right, but if you're stating that it's reasonable to assume that a Wiz will double his base capacity, rare to triple it, and unheard of to quadruple it (Staff of Magius, et al), that's the data necessary for balance.
Well, again that's kind of in the hands of the individual DM, and what (s)he might give out for treasure, as far as how rare more than doubling our mana pool might be. Some DMs are more likely to hand out staves that are significantly more powerful than you are then others.
But you're talking about baseline assumptions, so yes, quite right.
 

Wands
A wand can take many forms, but in essence is a shaft between one and two feet long. A wand’s primary function is to increase the power of its wielder.
Before a character may benefit from a wand, she must attune herself to it. This is a process in which she must align her own magical pattern with that of the wand, creating a kind of synergistic empathy between the two. The character must study the wand’s magical pattern in a quiet, peaceful place for 1 day, then make a Spellcraft check (DC: 10+1 per wand’s creator level). If the Spellcraft check fails, the wand’s pattern is too complex for her to comprehend, and the process cannot be attempted again until the characters Spellcraft modifier increases. If the character succeeds in the Spellcraft check, then she must make a Will save to align her magical pattern with that of the wand. If this check fails, she suffers arcane burn, if the check succeeds then the character and the wand have become aligned.
A wand will not function for anyone who has not been aligned with it.
Original Text: Once the character and the wand are aligned, the wand will increase the wielder’s effective caster level by 1 level for every pt. of Int. bonus of the creator so long as the wand is held.
New Text: Once the character and the wand are aligned, the wand will increase the wielder’s effective caster level by (crafter’s level+Int Mod) *.25 so long as the wand is held

(I.E. Tophin (L9 Wiz, Int 16) crafts a wand. This wand will increase Tophin’s ECL by 3.)
(I.E. Tophin (L9 Wiz, Int 16) has a new wand made for him by an apprentice (L1 Wiz, Int 14. This wand will increase Tophin’s ECL by 1.)
(I.E. Tophin (L9 Wiz, Int 16) finds a wand (crafter L14 Wiz, Int 19). This wand will increase Tophin’s ECL by 4.)


The new text is a change made in response to comments made by Pyrex in a previous thread.
 

Remove ads

Top