Assuming Command

Lasher Dragon

First Post
My DM asked me to post this question to you guys/gals out there, as it has come up in his game a few times and neither of us knows the ruling for it.

If an undead is currently under command, and someone else casts command undead on it, what happens?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd treat it just like overlapped charm effects. If the orders conflict, roll an opposed Charisma check for the two commanders. The winner's order is followed.
 

Ahhh that sounds reasonable. We were thinking maybe an opposed caster level check as in dispel magic. Would it matter if say I were in the room with the undead, trying to command it, and the NPC who already has control of it were far way? Possibly even on another plane?
 

Lasher Dragon said:
We were thinking maybe an opposed caster level check as in dispel magic. Would it matter if say I were in the room with the undead, trying to command it, and the NPC who already has control of it were far way? Possibly even on another plane?
Well, I was thinking that the caster level check would work better, but now that I read the discription, I'd have to go with the Charisma checks.

And definitely give a bonus for distance. It's similar to the dog with two masters each trying to call it to them. Only in this case, the other master isn't even there. Or trying very hard. So, it's more like trying to subvert a dog from its master on your own.

Of course, if it's non intelligent, I'd just give it to the second person for free. No saving throw, the newer spell overwrites the older one.
 

"Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as a spell that removes the subjects ability to act. Mental controls that don’t remove the recipient’s ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys."

So, it obeys both unless the commands conflict in which case you roll opposed Charisma checks.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top