attacking with two weapons/ holding two weapons

Pax said:


That is entirely different; that would be a magical property ... the Defender +5 weapon could as easily be Armor Spikes, rather than a dagger. To gain the Defender bonus, you aren't required to FIGHT with the weapon, merely "wield" it.


The defending ability is use activated, which means you have to be using it. You use a weapon by attacking with it, thus you can't get the benefit of a defending weapon unless you are using it on an attack action.

Defending

A defender weapon allows the wielder to transfer some or all of the sword’s enhancement bonus to his AC as a special bonus that stacks with all others. As a free action, the wielder chooses how to allocate the weapon’s enhancement bonus at the start of his turn before using the weapon, and the effect to AC lasts until his next turn.

Caster Level: 8th; Prerequisites: Craft Magic Arms and Armor, shield or shield of faith; Market Price: +1 bonus.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Caliban said:


The defending ability is use activated, which means you have to be using it. You use a weapon by attacking with it, thus you can't get the benefit of a defending weapon unless you are using it on an attack action.

[/B]

Umm, your quote says nothing about having to use the weapon, just that the bonus of the weapon going to AC has to be decided before any attack is made.
 

Xeriar said:


Umm, your quote says nothing about having to use the weapon, just that the bonus of the weapon going to AC has to be decided before any attack is made.

Umm, yes it does. Read the part I put in bold, namely the "before USING the weapon" part. Seems pretty clear to me.

Also check the FAQ.
 

Caliban said:


Umm, yes it does. Read the part I put in bold, namely the "before USING the weapon" part. Seems pretty clear to me.

Also check the FAQ.

Doh!

The free action to decide the bonuses is ambiguous, though the FAQ isn't.
 


Well Pax and drnuncheon, we'll just have to agree to disagree on this, as we're just getting into semantics now, and we can go round and round and round for days like this and never sway each other. :cool:
 
Last edited:

Curious as to the response I would get, I sent this off to Customer Service and the Sage (I don't think I have Skip's email right, or I just didn't get a reply from him). Anyhow, here ya' go...

You just need to have the weapons drawn to gain the benefits of this style.

Thanks!
********************************************************
Chris A.
Wizards of the Coast - Game Support
Website: http://www.wizards.com
Game Support E-Mail: custserv@wizards.com
Game Support Phone: 1-800-324-6496
Monday through Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM PST



-----Original Message-----
From: Kelly Reynolds [mailto:kbreynolds@attbi.com]
Sent: Tuesday, November 05, 2002 8:18 AM
To: Wizards Customer Service
Subject: Twin-Sword Style


Do you have to actually use the attack action or full-attack action to gain the benefits of Twin-Sword Style? Or do you just have to have the weapons drawn?
 



Remove ads

Top