Avenger Synergy with the Lucklender Weapon

Stalker0

Legend
Just noticed an interesting synergy with these two. Avenger commonly get two rolls due to their class feature. The lucklender weapon gives you its charge whenever you roll a 1 on an attack roll (doesn't say anything about having to keep the one). So an avenger has double the chance to accumulate charges.

Don't think its a broken combo or anything, but could be a fun combo.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


A reasonable reading, but the opposite reading seems equally reasonable. Do you have anything to back up your interpretation?
 


Sorry Draco but that is pretty undeniably just one interpretation of the two possible interpretation of the synergy between these two rules.

The class feature for the Avenger clearly states you make two attack rolls and take either result. It does not say that you roll two d20s and take either result for your attack roll. Not trying to say the opposite of your statement is clearly correct, I'm just saying its up to interpretation.
 

PHB said:
Automatic miss: If you roll a natural 1 (the die shows a 1), your attack automaticly misses.

So, are you saying that the Avenger automaticly misses 9.5 percent of the time?

And how do you adjudicate when the Avenger rolls a 1 on one die, and a 20 on the other? Does he both automatically hit, AND automatically miss?


Fortunately common sense kicks in and reminds us that Oath of Emnity tells us we use one result. Applying the effects of a roll IS using that result, and thus the unused 1 does not get to apply. This is fortunate. Avengers don't like being forced to auto-miss more often than other characters. Also, Elves don't like being told they can't reroll their 1s, and other such non-sense.

The class feature for the Avenger clearly states you make two attack rolls and take either result.

PHB2 said:
...you make two attack rolls and use either result.

It clearly does not say 'take' either; it says 'use'. If you are applying game rules to the roll of a die, you are using that result. You get to only use one of the results. You do NOT get to use both. So if you apply Lucklender to that 1 you rolled, then you are -by definition- using that 1. Also, you auto-miss, because you are -using- a 1 on an attack roll.

So the two possible positions are this:

1) Lucklender applies to extraneous 1s on Oath'd attacks, but such attack automaticly misses regardless of the second die. DM has to figure out what happens if a 1 and 20 come up.

2) Common sense says you don't use the 1 at all.

Enjoy.
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top