Awesome blow and AoOs

Because:
1) Awesome Blow is based on Bull Rush and Bull Rush doesn't grant you AOOs against the guy you shoved back. Awesome Blow = Bull Rush + Regular Attack.

2) It doesn't make any sense. I hit you, so I get to hit you again? Don't be silly. Next you'll be saying that if you hit someone and drop them, you'll get an AOO on the body as it falls to the ground.

Camarath said:
Why do you believe that you don't get an AoO for knocking someone through your own threatened area when you use the Awesome Blow feat?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Endur said:
Because:
1) Awesome Blow is based on Bull Rush and Bull Rush doesn't grant you AOOs against the guy you shoved back. Awesome Blow = Bull Rush + Regular Attack.

Where do you get "based on Bull Rush" from? Imprvoed Bull Rush as a prerequisite?

Far Shot has Point Blank Shot as a prerequisite. Does that mean you only allow Far Shot to be used within 30 feet?

-Hyp.
 

Endur said:
2) It doesn't make any sense. I hit you, so I get to hit you again? Don't be silly. Next you'll be saying that if you hit someone and drop them, you'll get an AOO on the body as it falls to the ground.
No I will not be saying that because the rules state that "Drop to the floor" and "Drop Prone" do not provoke AoO. Moving out of a threatened square on the other hand does provoke an AoO unless other wise stated and in this case nothing states that it does not provoke an AoO.
 

Camarath said:
No I will not be saying that because the rules state that "Drop to the floor" and "Drop Prone" do not provoke AoO. Moving out of a threatened square on the other hand does provoke an AoO unless other wise stated and in this case nothing states that it does not provoke an AoO.

Personally I think I would rule that the creature performing the Awesome Blow would not be eligible for an AoO, although any other creatures threatening the area would be.

However I believe the RaW supports the creature who takes the Awesome Blow also getting an AoO.
 

I asked custserv. They provided an answer, but not the reasoning for the answer:

From : Wizards Customer Service <custserv@wizards.com>
Sent : Wednesday, December 24, 2003 9:30 AM
To : "John Sugden" <jgsugden@hotmail.com>
Subject : RE: Awesome Blow Question

Awesome blow, the feat from the MM, allows a creature to move an opponent
10'. Does this 10' of movement provoke AoOs from the creature performing the
awesome blow maneuver? What about from other enemies of the victim?

-No on the AoO from the creature with Awesome Blow... however if they end up
moving through the treatened area of another opponent, that would provoke an
AoO.

In other words, if a huge earth elemental (reach 15') uses awesome blow on a
medium humanoid 5' away from it, does it get an AoO as the creature is
knocked back to 15' away?

-No.

If this movement takes the medium humanoid through
the reach of another huge earth elemental, does that elemental get an AoO
for moving through the threatened area?

-Yes.


*******************************************
Chris
Wizards of the Coast - Customer Support
Website: <http://www.wizards.com>
Game Support Phone: 1-800-324-6496
Monday through Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM PST
Corporate Phone: (425) 226-6500
*******************************************
*Please quote this email in your reply*
 


Camarath said:
As far as I can see nothing in the feat prevents the creature using the feat from getting a movement based AoO due to the results of the Awesome Blow action.
A creautre moved because of Awesome Blow, Telekinesis, Gust of Wind, Bull Rush, or a similar spell doesn't move, it is moved.

Let me put it another way:

If a PC is standing on a ledge, and a goblin falls down past him, does the PC get an AoO?

IMO, the answer is a firm NO. And if the rules say otherwise--well, the rules are often wrong.
 

Planesdragon said:
A creautre moved because of Awesome Blow, Telekinesis, Gust of Wind, Bull Rush, or a similar spell doesn't move, it is moved.
I do not see any requirement in the rules for the movement that provokes an AoO to be voluntary or to be an action (or part of an action) on the part of the creature that moves.
Planesdragon said:
If a PC is standing on a ledge, and a goblin falls down past him, does the PC get an AoO?
If the goblin leaves a square that is threatened by the PC then I believe it does provoke an AoO.
Planesdragon said:
IMO, the answer is a firm NO. And if the rules say otherwise--well, the rules are often wrong.
You are free to change the rules to suit your preferences as always.

I believe that the rules generally provide for an AoO at any time in which one creature moves (regardless of impetus) in such a way that it leaves a square threatened by the another creatures. My view is that unless there is a stated exemption to this rule it remains in effect. There is no stated exemption in this case. It seems likely that the feat was meant to work as a kind of special Bull Rush but that is not stated in the feat or in any other rules as far as I can see.
 

Camarath said:
I believe that the rules generally provide for an AoO at any time in which one creature moves (regardless of impetus) in such a way that it leaves a square threatened by the another creatures.
That's fine. You can be wrong. *grin* In roleplaying, it's more important to be consistent than to be correct. (see the 15 lbs longsword.)

Just don't be surprised than when a 20th level wizard battle-leader uses telekinesis to throw the BBEG across his battle lines, and wants each and every one of his soldiers to get an attack of opportunity against said BBEG in addition to their readied attack.
 

Planesdragon said:
Just don't be surprised than when a 20th level wizard battle-leader uses telekinesis to throw the BBEG across his battle lines, and wants each and every one of his soldiers to get an attack of opportunity against said BBEG in addition to their readied attack.

That's a standard TK tactic based on the Bull Rush rules.

In 3E, it was extrapolating from the Bull Rush rules that involuntary movement provokes AoOs just like voluntary movement.

In 3.5, there's no extrapolation necessary, since Telekinesis-to-move-someone now uses the Bull Rush rules.

From the SRD:

Bull Rush Results: If you beat the defender’s Strength check result, you push him back 5 feet. If you wish to move with the defender, you can push him back an additional 5 feet for each 5 points by which your check result is greater than the defender’s check result. You can’t, however, exceed your normal movement limit. (Note: The defender provokes attacks of opportunity if he is moved. So do you, if you move with him. The two of you do not provoke attacks of opportunity from each other, however.)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top