Being Bound and helpless

Hello everyone,

I'm just trying to work a ruling for a potential spell that my PC's want - 8th level Chains of Antimagic from CBoEM for those concerned.

The target is bound by a normally strengthed chain (Break DC 26).
Because the target is bound, they are helpless.
Because the target is helpless, the target's dex becomes zero.
Because the targets DEX is zero, the character cannot move at all.

Thus, can they attempt to break out of the chains if they cannot move at all?
I'm confused.

Best Regards
Herremann the Wise
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't have the book and the description of the spell, but based on what you mentioned - yes, the target can attempt to break out of the chains. Few reasons - the target's Dex is not actually 0 but is simply treated as such, and in D&D terms moving usually refers to movement from point A to B, not all physical movement. Remember that a character bound by a regular rope is also helpless, but is allowed attempts to escape it or break it, so it should be the same here.
 

Remove ads

Top