Beware possible dumb wizard question

Himoura

First Post
I was wondering can a wizard channel their spells though a weapon?

I have a wizard co-hort who is an archer, elf, high dex eldrich knight PrC. Can she channel, spells though her bow, spell spells that have correct range, or do i need a feat or something to do it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Duskblades (PHB2) get that feature, though I think it only works for Melee weapons. Arcane Archers (DMG) get the ability as well, but Eldritch Knights get no such thing. Sorry.

-TRRW
 

Off to rules!

And the short answer is that a wizard can't do this without a specific prestige class (or alternate base class.) Our Rules gurus can give more detail.
 

Daggerspellmages can cast with two daggers in their hands... Duskblades have been mentioned... Arcane Strike has been mentioned (melee only though I allowed it once for ranged)... Ascetic Mage allows you IIRC to boost your unarmed combat abilities by using up spell slots.
 


ok spell storing looks like the best option for my wizard unless i look at arcane archer, which i haven't yet since i don't have any of my books available to me at the moment.

so i could put a 3rd level targeted spell, eg orb of ice, but not something like fireball or lightning bolt into a bow, shoot the weapon, if i hit then i can choose to set the spell off as well. what about range requirments of the spell would they still need to be met? touch of idiocy is my example, normally requiring a touch attack, would the bow do?

Or is spell storing melee weapon only?
 


yeah i looked at the AA, and the 2 level dip to get the ability i want doesn't really seem worth it, since i already have a 2 lvl dip to get into eldrich knight. ok i just reread the post above this and noticed it was melee only for spell storing, that kinda ruines my idea complete doesn't it

are you sure its melee weapon only?
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top