Bracers of Striking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Kir Rin -- RTFM.

I, in fact, typed out a word-for-word quote of the BRacers' description. It says (I quote again), emphasis mine:

Bracers of Striking: The wearer of bracers of striking is considered armed even when unarmed (as if he had the Improved Unarmed Strike feat).
The bracers may be modified with special weapon abilities as if they were a blunt weapon (though they count as a double weapon, so double the cost of any ability).

And in fact, technically the bracers never say they can gain an ENHANCEMENT bonus.

Just special weapon abilities.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

But the rest of the description does ...

Caster Level: Three times the magical bonus (minimum 5th level), Prerequisites: Craft Magic Arms and Armor, magic fang or magic weapon, plus any needed for additional special powers.

"magical bonus" and "magic weapon/fang" clearly indicate an enhancement bonus
 
Last edited:

Spells required to create an item a just an approximation of a related effect. Many times it does relate to items that have abilities that cannot be duplicated by any specific spell. You can't read enhancement bonus into the item based on the creation requirements.
 

Pax said:
I, in fact, typed out a word-for-word quote of the BRacers' i]
Or to put it another way:
The bracers may be modified with special weapon abilities as if they were a blunt weapon(though they count as a double weapon , so double the cost of any ability).

Perhaps you are not aware that when you create a double weapon and enchant both ends, you have to pay for them separately? Each end costs as much as a single item of that type. Two ends means that you have to pay as much as enchanting two single weapons. Thus you pay double the cost. RTFD
 
Last edited:

I'm going to agree with Pax, et. al., on this one. My reading of the description parses that it's like a double weapon, but without the usual option to enchant only half of it.
 

Dcollins has it right -- on a normal double weapon, you only have to pay ONCE -- you don't have to make the other end magical at all.

For the bracers, you must make the other end magical, to the same net market-price-adjustment level. Further, Occam's razor says, if "double the price of any effects" is stated, then it's implicit you pick one set of effects, and pay for it twice.
 
Last edited:

I axed this rule completely. Monks are in bad enough shape without doubling the cost of their only really usable weapon. I also allow a single casting of Magic Fang to to work on all natural attacks.

PS
 

If one needs to emphasize and underline only certain parts of of a given text; if one needs to use the words "implicit" and "implied" in order to make one's point; then one is most likely stating only opinion - one possible interpretation of a given passage.

Stating that opinion repeatedly does not make it any closer to fact.
 

Emphasising that portion of the description, Kir Ryn, places my opinioncloser to being fact than your decision -- which is to ignore it entirely, as if it were not even there.

If the intent of the description were solely that the BRacers could be enchanted in exacly the same fashion as a double-weapon, then the statement regarding doubling of price would have been omitted as needlessly redundant and misleading.

It wasn't left out; I must conclude it's part of the description for a reason. It describes a slightly different mechanic for the Bracers, than for any other double weapon. Therefor, I must conclude the Bracers are not enchanted exactly like other double weapons are.

It's called deductive reasoning. Try it some day.
 
Last edited:

I agree that the "spirit" of the rule was to (a) make the item cost twice as much as a weapon with similiar abilities and (b) that BOTH bracers must have the same "abilities".

However, I'm not sure about disallowing pluses (as to have Bracers of Striking +3 for example). It states that the Bracers can be enchanted with a special weapon ability that any blunt weapon could be enchanted with. A +3 bonus is a special ability a blunt weapon can be enchanted with.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top