Bracers of Striking

Status
Not open for further replies.
There's a character with a pair of these in the high-level Planescape game that we just started. He's got +1 impact on one and +1 sure striking on the other, so we've had to work out these issues already.

Ki Ryn said:
Ok, so I get these Bracers and enchant them as a double weapon. I make one +1 Flaming and the other +1 Frost (like I could do with any double weapon). Then I do a flying kick, what type of energy damage does my opponent take?

You pick, just like you could with any other attack with a double weapon - whichever "weapon" is primary for that round.

Ki Ryn said:
If you are a monk, having one fist enchanted is as good as both (since you are not doing the whole primary/seconday hand thing for your flurries).

Not quite - check PHB 39. "If armed with two such [monk] weapons, she uses one for the regular attack (or attacks) and the other for the extra attack."

So, on a flurry, you'd have to strike once with the unboosted bracer. (And using Lightning Fists, you'd have to strike twice with it.)

J
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think it is most logical to let each bracer effect one appendage. So when you wear the bracers on your wrists, they effect your hands/elbows. In this case it would be very logical to treat the bracers like double weapons, because that what they are in effect.

Letting them effect all unarmed attacks would be to much for the limited price of the item. The bracers cost nearly the same as normal double weapons, so should work the same. An item like the amulet of mighty fist costs three times as much as a normal weapon and effects all unarmed attacks. I don't think it would be balanced to let the bracers effect all unarmed attacks.

Making +1flaming/+1frost Bracers of Striking would be perfectly according to the rules.

As for the "flying kick" feat, it doesn't say you have to use your feet for the attack. As a DM I would say you can use one of your hands for the attack.
 

Brekki said:
Letting them effect all unarmed attacks would be to much for the limited price of the item.

Considering that there's no difference rules-wise between a punch and a kick, I see no reason to limit the bracers-using player to only saying "I punch him." It's not like the combatant gets extra attacks from kicking or anything. As long as he follows the guidelines in the rules - one of the attacks in a flurry must come from the secondary weapon - then as far as I'm concerned he can call them punches, kicks, elbows, knees, boot to the head, whatever.

Now, if you had a 3+ armed creature, and you wanted to use Multiattack, the bracers would only affect the limbs they were on, sure.

J
 



Re: Re: Re: Bracers of Striking

drnuncheon said:
Of course, if you read the rest of that thread, you'll notice that SKR changes his mind and decides it's OK after all.
I started it and I certainly read the whole thread.

SKR does not change his mind.


(You may be reffering to how he agrees that IF you allow separate enhancements, a monk could attack with only one bracer/hand with no penalty.)
 

Ki Ryn said:
Ok, so I get these Bracers and enchant them as a double weapon. I make one +1 Flaming and the other +1 Frost (like I could do with any double weapon). Then I do a flying kick, what type of energy damage does my opponent take?

Here's the thing; it says to double the cost.

You don't enchant each "end" seperately.

IOW, both "ends" of this double weapon must be exactly the same.

So you can't have the Bracers you describe. You could have +1 Flaming on both ends, or you could have +1 frost on both ends, but not one on each end.

From MoF:

The bracers may be modified with special weapon abilities as if they were a blunt weapon (though they count as a double weapon, so doubl the cost of any ability).

You can't have one bracer be +1, and the other be +2. It's either all +1, or all +2.

If you have a pair of Bracers of Striking +1, Flaming, Frost ... they count as a +3/+3 double weapon for pricing (costing 37,310gp), and make all your unarmed attacks +1 flaming, frost.
 
Last edited:

Actually, it just says:
The bracers may be modified with special weapon abilities as if they were a blunt weapon (though they count as a double weapon, so double the cost of any ability).
and the DMG says
Double weapons have separate magical
bonuses for their different heads.
It's pretty clear that a double weapon does not have to have each end imbued exactly the same; and there is no indication that Bracers of Striking act any differently than a double weapon.
 

There is and implicit difference.

The bracers say to double the cost of any abilities.

That is not said for double weapons, merely that each side is enchanted seperately.
 


Status
Not open for further replies.

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top