Bull Rush into an IRON MAIDEN


log in or register to remove this ad

I think not, solely based on my opinion that that's entirely too cool a maneuver to not succeed. I mean, think of it - IRON MAIDEN!
 

I agree with P-Cat, there's no way that's not going to happen in my game either...actually it did happen in one of the 3.5e games I ran in the Savage Tide AP IIRC.
 

I certainly wouldn't want to give the hobgoblin a save against such a maneuver if one of my players did it to the hobgoblin.
 



I was playing the other day, and I made the mistake of standing infront of an open IRON MAIDEN *Air Guitar Solo*. The hobgoblin bull rushed me to the IRON MAIDEN. My question is, should I have gotten a save to fall prone?

As a GM, this would be a tough call for me.

RAW, I think, forcing you into the inside of the iron maiden is a squeeze, and the rules for forced movement specifically say that forced movement cannot force a target to squeeze.

But the *cool* factor -- especially if the situation were reversed & it was the player wanting to do to it -- makes me want to find a way to make it happen.

I'd use the DMG rules on Forced Movement & Terrain, in which case the PC would in fact get the save. Calling the iron maiden "hindering terrain" might be a bit of a stretch, depending on how the trap is described in the first place, but if a cloud of daggers or a raging fire can fall into that category, it seems like a spiked box doesn't require a whole lot of bending the rules.
 

RAW, you should get a save. The interior of an Iron Maiden is about as hindering as terrain can get.

However, I'm with all of the above, who say that this is far too awesome not to happen. My whole table would be disappointed, I think.

-O
 


RAW, you should get a save. The interior of an Iron Maiden is about as hindering as terrain can get.

It actually depends.

Does the iron maiden give out XP? If so, it's a hazard and only counts as terrain if its description says it does. (Falling being the exception, as all falls are considered precipitous terrain, and therefore qualify it as hindering terrain by both definitions). If it does not say it is terrain (and it's not likely, being a physical object on the ground) then there is no save. However, it may or may not have to make an attack to deal its damage.

If the iron maiden does not give out XP, then it's not terrain, it's just a physical object on the battlefield, like a chandelier or a table. It's a dangerous object, mind you, but this is the sort of situation covered by Page 42, not by the rules for terrain.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top