Campaign Conundrum 1 - Silence

RigaMortus2 said:
The ground also has no Dex, so wouldn't that be a -5 to AC as well?

I still think it's an AC 5 because, if someone throws a splash weapon, the spot they aim for has an AC of 5. Why does one ranged weapon have a worse chance of hitting the same target as another ranged weapon if the spot is within the range of said weapon (i.e. why should it be easier for someone to throw an item at a spot and hit the spot when they're actually proficient in the bow and are aiming for the same spot?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Scion said:
Can you, or anyone else, find a rule that says that the spell will go away when the arrow breaks?

I am curious about this as well. I wouldn't think the silence spell would cease to exist because the arrow broke. I see that the majority here do. Is there a rule that states this? Or is this a feeling people have?
 

Also, wouldn't it be a ranged touch attack? You aren't looking to damage the ground or even stick the Silenced Arrow into the ground. You just want it to land somewhere within a specific 5 foot space. Whether the arrow travels with great force or less is irrelevant.
 

Scion said:
I realize that the arrow is destroyed, that has nothing to do with what I asked however ;)

Can you, or anyone else, find a rule that says that the spell will go away when the arrow breaks?

An enchanted magical item loses its power when broken, but we are talking about a spell cast on something here, not a magical item.

Again however, someone could cast silence on a thumb tack, put it on the arrow and fire the arrow and the result would be the same: Area of silence around where the arrow hit.

SRD said:
A damaged object remains fully functional until the item’s hit points are reduced to 0, at which point it is destroyed .. Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself .. If the spell affects creatures directly the result travels with the subjects for the spell’s duration.

"Destroyed" has its usual meaning. If an object is destroyed then it no longer exists for game purposes. An object that doesn't exist has no location. Thus the silence spell has no target, and even if it continued in effect for the duration anyway (see the definition of an emanation) it would have to radiate from the position of the object, that is, from nowhere.

I agree that you could attach something to an arrow and cast the silence on that object. Attaching an object would be a full round action and apply something like a -4 penalty to the shot. I think that's a fair cost for the effect.
 

Starglim said:
"Destroyed" has its usual meaning. If an object is destroyed then it no longer exists for game purposes. An object that doesn't exist has no location. Thus the silence spell has no target, and even if it continued in effect for the duration anyway (see the definition of an emanation) it would have to radiate from the position of the object, that is, from nowhere.

You can't repair a destroyed object with the appropriate Craft skill?
 

Starglim said:
"Destroyed" has its usual meaning.

I couldnt find the definition of 'destroyed' in d&d in any of my books. Did I miss one? Generally I take 'destroyed' to mean, 'no longer functions in the designed way' or 'broken'.

If an arrow has its fletchings torn off it would be considered destroyed under those conditions, or if its tip breaks off.

Still though, I usually assume that silence is cast on a point on the object, mainly because it is easier that way (if I cast silence on an object which is 40' in radius where is the area of silence at?). But of course this is an odd area of the rules to be in.

Starglim said:
I agree that you could attach something to an arrow and cast the silence on that object. Attaching an object would be a full round action and apply something like a -4 penalty to the shot. I think that's a fair cost for the effect.

Well, the extra item could be placed on the arrow ahead of time. Unless we are dealing with something pretty hefty I doubt a -4 penalty would be applied.

I mean, the thumb tack I said earlier is very light and has little extra drag, unless of course it is put on the end behind the fletchings and then it is only a counterweight to the arrowhead, it might even fly 'better' then. Or we could put some tape on it. Or a piece of string. Or who knows what else.

With a smart enough character and/or with appropriate ranks, I doubt there would be any penalty to the shot.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
You can't repair a destroyed object with the appropriate Craft skill?

That has no bearing on the situation at hand. Yes, you can repair destroyed objects. But that doesn't mean if you run up and repair a destroyed arrow that had silence cast on it, the spell would suddenly start up again.
 

reveal said:
That has no bearing on the situation at hand. Yes, you can repair destroyed objects. But that doesn't mean if you run up and repair a destroyed arrow that had silence cast on it, the spell would suddenly start up again.

But it does mean that it still exists and still has a location ;)
 

RigaMortus2 said:
You can't repair a destroyed object with the appropriate Craft skill?

No, you can't.

SRD said:
Damaged (but not destroyed) objects can be repaired with the Craft skill.

Your GM might allow you to use a destroyed object as raw material for the Craft skill, which is a different thing.
 


Remove ads

Top