azhrei_fje
First Post
"The light-speed bucket", eh? I hadn't heard that, but it certainly seems apropos.
I think I agree with the imposition of simultaneity. During a single round, the wand can only be used a single time because the action occurs at the same time as other actions.
It feels ... "arbitrary" ... because other things in combat are clearly not simultaneous (the attack-move-attack mentioned above).
It also makes the party more powerful. If a single wand can be passed around during a single round, effectively every wizard in the party has such a wand. This is equivalent to increasing the asset value of each party member. At lower levels, this gives the party a higher APL due to their larger resources. The party will be victorious more often again ELs that are supposed to be challenging, so the DM has to increase the EL, which increases the corresponding treasure reward. AN ever-increasing ramp-up of power.
If/when this comes up again, I'm going to rule that the wand can only be used once per round. I might allow a character to delay until an initiative point in the following round, then use their action that round on the wand (since they sacrificed their turn in the previous round), but the wand would still be usable only once. (Hmm. Maybe not. I need to think on this a bit more.)
Thanks, everyone! There were a few things mentioned that I hadn't considered!
I think I agree with the imposition of simultaneity. During a single round, the wand can only be used a single time because the action occurs at the same time as other actions.
It feels ... "arbitrary" ... because other things in combat are clearly not simultaneous (the attack-move-attack mentioned above).
It also makes the party more powerful. If a single wand can be passed around during a single round, effectively every wizard in the party has such a wand. This is equivalent to increasing the asset value of each party member. At lower levels, this gives the party a higher APL due to their larger resources. The party will be victorious more often again ELs that are supposed to be challenging, so the DM has to increase the EL, which increases the corresponding treasure reward. AN ever-increasing ramp-up of power.
If/when this comes up again, I'm going to rule that the wand can only be used once per round. I might allow a character to delay until an initiative point in the following round, then use their action that round on the wand (since they sacrificed their turn in the previous round), but the wand would still be usable only once. (Hmm. Maybe not. I need to think on this a bit more.)
Thanks, everyone! There were a few things mentioned that I hadn't considered!